Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Got fuel and air but no spark

Vehicles
      '04 GTi 1.8T, '90 G60
      04-11-2013 03:00 PM #1
      Guys, I am in need of some assistance. I've just acquired a '90 G60 with a rebuilt motor. Problem is it has no spark. The coil, distributor, rotor, cap, wires and plugs have been replaced. I have power from the battery and the number 15 fuse is good.

I can't figure out which relay is the ignition coil relay.

Besides that, everything seems to be fine. Anyone have suggestions?

2. 04-11-2013 03:31 PM #2
      Digifant dead?

Vehicles
      '04 GTi 1.8T, '90 G60
      04-11-2013 03:56 PM #3
      Don't believe so. I have everything else as far as power goes. Is there a way to test? I'm new to this game.

Vehicles
      90 G60 (since new) 93+VR 13 GTI
      04-11-2013 07:10 PM #4
      What exactly is happening when you turn the key? Does it crank and crank, or nothing happens?There's a few things that control the spark.

Verify the ECU ground wire is secured to the (-) battery terminal. The other ground wire attached to it is for the radiator fan (also important).

Next, verify you have 12V going to the ignition coil. Do that by removing the black wire going to terminal 15 of the coil. That goes to circuit 15 so, you'll need to turn the ignition to the "on" position before checking.

Those are simple spade connectors that like to work themselves loose. I have mine taped to the coil to prevent that from happening.

I'm unaware of a coil relay. Replacing the digifant control unit (ECU) relay is never a bad idea. I have a spare in the glovebox, less I have to walk home.
      The ignition switch is also a usual suspect. I don't want to send you in a million directions at once so, check power to the coil first.

Vehicles
      '04 GTi 1.8T, '90 G60
      04-11-2013 09:25 PM #5
      I will check this for sure. Thanks for the help.