Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast
    Results 141 to 175 of 294

    Thread: 16v FAQ: if you are new to the 16v forum, this is the thread for you

    1. 02-06-2007 10:34 PM #141
      Quote, originally posted by veedubpickup »
      where can i find/read info. on swapping a 2.0l 16v into a mk1?
      thanks

      not sure about where to find specific information. however, swapping a 2.0 16v into a mk1 is relatively easy, except for the dash wiring. motor mounts are simple as they were made for a 16v engine to go into a mk1 chassis (mkII sciroccos came with 16v's, see my previous post about the mk1 motor mounts).

      sorry, I don't know much about dash wiring in mk1's, so I would just swap as much of the mkII harness as I could.

      basically, you'd have to figure out a way to get the rear wiring harnesses to work with a mkII fuse box and front engine harness, or get a mkII engine bay harness to work with the mk1 fuse box and harness. I'm not really sure which would be the easiest to do.

      but, get all the mk1 motor mounts, a mk1/mk2 or mk1 only transmission (again, see previous post about motor mounts), figure out the wiring, and you're done. relatively simple.

      additionally, a 2.0L in a mk1 is awesome! I've ridden in a few, and they sure do FLY.


    2. 03-06-2007 12:30 PM #142
      Does anyone know anything about the ACE engine code found in the european Audi 80 16v 2.0l produced between '92-'95 (audi B4), does anyone know if it is Motronic: programmable for turbocharging without using standalone?

    3. 03-06-2007 03:06 PM #143
      Quote, originally posted by stil »
      Does anyone know anything about the ACE engine code found in the european Audi 80 16v 2.0l produced between '92-'95 (audi B4), does anyone know if it is Motronic: programmable for turbocharging without using standalone?

      what style of block you have shouldn't matter, provided you can fit the proper oil pressure sensors onto it. where the injection system really matters is in the style of head that you put on the block, and even then, not so much. you can run a 16v on motronic, jetronic, digi1, or digi2. all the various information on the particulars for each swap can be found on the vortex by searching.


    4. 03-07-2007 11:59 AM #144
      actually i wasn't asking about the engine but the car model and the fuel system runing it! yes true you could run 16v on jetronic to a certain point, digi 1 & digi 2 you have to rewire and motronic probably just burn a chip and may be a map sensor i am not sure that is why im asking. i tried search but no luck. why would head style matter


      Modified by stil at 10:01 AM 3-7-2007

    5. Member wantacaddybad's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 14th, 2006
      Location
      Dirty Lew
      Posts
      720
      Vehicles
      84 cabby carb'd 16v/ 86 Gli vr6
      06-04-2007 03:22 PM #145
      any one know what to do to turbo a 2.0 16v. still using cis e. is it possible?

    6. Member Gede Nimbo's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 13th, 2004
      Location
      Chesepeake / Metro NJ
      Posts
      1,883
      Vehicles
      Cabby and Caddy
      07-05-2007 06:39 PM #146
      I tried to check all of the archives and I can't find an answer for this one, I am almost done with my digifant 2 16V conversion and need to know what throttle cable do I actually use? I decided to go with the Scirocco 16V intake becuase of my car being a Cabriolet but now I need to know what cable and cable bracket do I use to mount it... I have 3 other things I need to finish up to get this car going... Some of the techies must know about this one....

      Pics help too....


    7. Senior Member IronTrap's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 14th, 2001
      Location
      Gilbertsville, PA
      Posts
      21,383
      Vehicles
      '50 Dodge PilotHouse, '52 DKW 125W, '76 Rabbit Ocean Bleu X2,EA Cabriolet,'77 & '80 Scirocco,'01 JSW
      07-05-2007 06:41 PM #147
      16v scirocco throttle cable is what you need. the bracket should be attached to the manifold.. if not you need the matching bracket.

      HTH

      -Matt


    8. Member manfredwerner's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 29th, 2007
      Location
      staten island/brooklyn
      Posts
      3,499
      Vehicles
      all gone, looking for another one
      08-11-2007 01:13 AM #148
      what does the exh cam give if put in place of intake?
      more power? torque? more gas? is it reliable?

      thank you.


    9. 08-13-2007 11:52 PM #149
      so I have a 16v 2.0 out of a 91 gli in my 84 mk1 jetta
      I pulled the injectors out and cranked it over adn no fuel came out.
      Is there a diagram for routing hte hoses? I want to make sure they are all going the places they should


      ALSO:
      It was an 8v car and they retroed the 16v in. I have wires everywhere and I have about 3 or so that I dont know where they go is there a wiring PICTURE showing where ALL the connections are and go?

      This car ran until a friend started unhooking things for a motor pull. now it dont run. anyone have any help or ideas. I have a bentley but its so far been no help.

      thanks in advance,
      -J_


    10. Geriatric Member VDub2625's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 3rd, 2003
      Location
      Fall River, MA
      Posts
      46,122
      Vehicles
      90 Jetta GLI 16v, 99.5 Cabrio Highline, 92 Golf GL
      08-14-2007 12:26 AM #150
      Wire colors?

      As for the no fuel problem, the injectors only work when the intake is at vacuum (the pistons sucking air in), which raises the fuel plate. No injectors=a big ******** in the intake! Try manually raising the plate with the key in the "On" position, stuff should come out then.

      A2Resource
      .......

    11. 08-14-2007 12:49 AM #151
      Thanks for the fuel answer.

      Wires? Tons.... plugs etc. 3 plug male
      2 plug female.


    12. Geriatric Member VDub2625's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 3rd, 2003
      Location
      Fall River, MA
      Posts
      46,122
      Vehicles
      90 Jetta GLI 16v, 99.5 Cabrio Highline, 92 Golf GL
      08-14-2007 12:51 AM #152
      There's lots of 3 and 2 plug connecotrs if you tell us the colors and approx. location of the connectors, we can help you a lot better
      A2Resource
      .......

    13. 08-23-2007 04:04 AM #153
      hi, i think i am almost ready to swap my new 16v 2.0L engine in to my 91mk2 gti(8v). just a few things.
      what motor mounts will i need? the 1990 passat motor mounts or the mk2 gti motor mounts? and i will be installing my engine without the ac compressor and without power steering. so the bracket is really only there to support my alternator. also does anyone know of a site that sells the adapter for my alternator pulley? i heard i need some kind of adapter to run my alternator with out the ac and power steering.
      fuel rails do i need to get a new one? a 16v one?

    14. Geriatric Member VDub2625's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 3rd, 2003
      Location
      Fall River, MA
      Posts
      46,122
      Vehicles
      90 Jetta GLI 16v, 99.5 Cabrio Highline, 92 Golf GL
      08-23-2007 10:02 AM #154
      You can go three routes to get rid of AC:

      1. Get the non-AC bracket. It moves the alternator to the factory non-AC location, but is tough to locate and expensive.

      2. Cut the top half of the bracket off, and install the alternator where the AC compressor used to be. THis is almost exactly like no. 1, but much cheaper.

      3. Use a bigger belt on the factory alternator location (mine used a 42" belt), and use the 8v alternator pulley from a car with AC. CHeap, easy, it's what I did and it works fine after 3000 miles so far.

      A2Resource
      .......

    15. 08-23-2007 04:54 PM #155
      thanks man!
      does anyone still know what motor mounts ill need? my cars a mk2 gti and my engines a 90passat. do i go buy mk2 gti mountS?

    16. 08-24-2007 10:54 PM #156
      How to tell the difference between a 1.8L 16v and 2.0L 16v head:

      http://scirocco.dhs.org/cheapa...mpare/


      P.S. someone needs to clean up this thread and get rid of the dead links and dead pics.


    17. Geriatric Member VDub2625's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 3rd, 2003
      Location
      Fall River, MA
      Posts
      46,122
      Vehicles
      90 Jetta GLI 16v, 99.5 Cabrio Highline, 92 Golf GL
      08-25-2007 12:04 AM #157
      Quote, originally posted by dubncoco »
      thanks man!
      does anyone still know what motor mounts ill need? my cars a mk2 gti and my engines a 90passat. do i go buy mk2 gti mountS?

      Questions like these are much better suited to a thread, not the FAQ.

      IIRC the mounts are the same, standard VW hydro. The blocks are the same, so you could use your old 8v bracketry bolted to the 16v.

      A2Resource
      .......

    18. 09-01-2007 05:36 PM #158
      hey i've heard about a 16v2.0L bottom with a 1.8 head? is it good? it just allows you to rev higher? i'm a new and quite confused but really interested

    19. Member Rev Jerry's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 20th, 2006
      Location
      Corona, CA
      Posts
      1,723
      Vehicles
      09 JSW TDI
      09-09-2007 07:08 PM #159

      This picture disappeared from page two. Back in the FAQ you go!


    20. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 1st, 2007
      Location
      south carolina, for now
      Posts
      2,659
      Vehicles
      2000 audi s4 1988 e30 monstarrr
      11-21-2007 01:21 AM #160
      back from the dead.... anyone have solid info on the compression ratio's for the 16v motors?

    21. Member schwartzmagic's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 29th, 2007
      Location
      MIA
      Posts
      7,118
      Vehicles
      2011 Jetta TDI; 05 VW Jetta GLI 5857BT
      12-17-2007 02:29 PM #161
      Quote, originally posted by GermanRob »
      back from the dead.... anyone have solid info on the compression ratio's for the 16v motors?

      1.8L 16v = 10:1 CR

      2.0L 16v = 10.8:1 CR


    22. 01-07-2008 01:45 AM #162
      Anybody have solid info of the compression ratio when you swap a 1.8 16V head vs. a 2.0 16V head onto a 2.0 ABA block?

    23. 01-07-2008 04:18 PM #163
      So 2.0l can be chipped and 1.8 cannot, and the tt fuel enrichment mod can be added to the 1.8l to have a similar effect to the f/e/m, but if I have a 2.0 bottom end, and a 1.8 head, could I have both chip and fuel mod?

    24. Geriatric Member VDub2625's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 3rd, 2003
      Location
      Fall River, MA
      Posts
      46,122
      Vehicles
      90 Jetta GLI 16v, 99.5 Cabrio Highline, 92 Golf GL
      01-07-2008 05:44 PM #164
      IT'S NOT BASED ON THE BLOCK, IT'S BASED ON THE MANAGEMENT. iF YOU HAVE A 2.0 BLOCK UNDER THE 1.8 HEAD (AND THE OLDER 1.8 MANAGEMENT), YOU CAN ONLY USE THE FUEL ENRICHMENT MOD.

      I had the caps lock on, I'm sorry, but I'm not retyping it

      A2Resource
      .......

    25. 01-08-2008 03:25 AM #165
      For a second there I thought you were will ferrel in that snl skit where he can't control the monotone volume of his voice lol. Thanks man, so the 1.8 managment doesnt use an ecu right? Thats what I heard and was wondering how accurate it is


      Modified by Scuba Stevo at 11:31 PM 1-7-2008

    26. Geriatric Member VDub2625's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 3rd, 2003
      Location
      Fall River, MA
      Posts
      46,122
      Vehicles
      90 Jetta GLI 16v, 99.5 Cabrio Highline, 92 Golf GL
      01-08-2008 03:32 AM #166
      Not really. It uses 3 seperate computers, for fuel, spark, and timing. The 2.0 ECU has all that in one unit, and is chippable.
      A2Resource
      .......

    27. 01-08-2008 03:49 AM #167
      gotcha. so you have to upgrade all 3 separately?

    28. Geriatric Member VDub2625's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 3rd, 2003
      Location
      Fall River, MA
      Posts
      46,122
      Vehicles
      90 Jetta GLI 16v, 99.5 Cabrio Highline, 92 Golf GL
      01-08-2008 03:52 AM #168
      No, you can't upgrade them at all.

      It's a complicated system, but they're seperate and independent, and "stupid", if you will. They need to be tricked to run differently Motronic brains are "smart" and can learn and adapt, and accept different programming.

      But the FAQ isn't the place for this sort of thing, get your module and go with it

      A2Resource
      .......

    29. 01-08-2008 03:54 AM #169
      I know I know, there are forums for this kinda stuff too. Just a couple simple questions, thanks brudda

    30. 01-20-2008 06:00 AM #170
      i just bought a 16v and the guy before me did the same thing but ghetto rigged it i just need to know how the bottom of the alternator is mounted so i can fix mine thanks

    31. 01-23-2008 08:40 PM #171
      Is there a big difference in performance between the 2.0l and 1.8l 16v? since you cant chip the 1.8, how does the fuel enrichment compare with a chip on a 2.0l? Is the chip a lot better or what

    32. 02-14-2008 10:40 PM #172
      Quote, originally posted by alpinemkll »
      Is there a big difference in performance between the 2.0l and 1.8l 16v? since you cant chip the 1.8, how does the fuel enrichment compare with a chip on a 2.0l? Is the chip a lot better or what


      If im not mistaken, the 1.8 has a 800 rpm higher rev range than the 2.0l, but the 2.0 has more HP.


    33. 02-16-2008 07:54 PM #173
      you are correct so that translate into a faster car? Im trying to decide if i should wait for a 2.0l to buy or also be open to the 1.8...

    34. 02-22-2008 08:00 PM #174
      just wondering, the adjusting bracket the alternator is hanging from, is that the oem one, it looks alot longer than normal. Also, why did you cut the mounting bracket? couldnt you have just moved the alt down to where the a/c was? Thanks man

    35. Geriatric Member VDub2625's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 3rd, 2003
      Location
      Fall River, MA
      Posts
      46,122
      Vehicles
      90 Jetta GLI 16v, 99.5 Cabrio Highline, 92 Golf GL
      02-23-2008 03:28 PM #175
      Quote, originally posted by mk2gtilover »
      just wondering, the adjusting bracket the alternator is hanging from, is that the oem one, it looks alot longer than normal. Also, why did you cut the mounting bracket? couldnt you have just moved the alt down to where the a/c was? Thanks man

      He did mount the alternator where the AC was. You have to cut the old alternator mounts because they get in the way, and won't let the alternator move like it should. He also might have used the non-AC upper bracket, but I'm not sure. I've heard you can just cut the slider a little longer? Would be nice if you can just use the stock one!

      Here's a great AC delete thread:
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=3335420

      A2Resource
      .......

    Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •