Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

The Car Lounge
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I buy a truck to start my own trucking company?

1. Junior Member
      Vehicles
      2002 Audi TT quattro (180), 2007 Hyundai Elantra
      05-25-2013 02:06 PM #1
      I am in quite in a pickle. I have my CDL class A and I am an engineering student. Both are my passions just like cars. I currently work full time as a yard jock. Anyway, my friend and I we tried starting a business before but we failed, now we are thinking of buying a day cab truck to do local and regional deliveries and we have friends who are truckers and would drive for us. We also have his brother in law who is a middle man between truckers and shippers so we're good with that. I also understand how much trucks are and how much maintenance will be, trust me I've done the math I'm very good with it.

My friends and I have talked about it and we're thinking about it.

So do you think I should start this with my friends and have my own business?

I was thinking about getting a Peterbilt 389 daycab with a Cat 550 hp engine. Or a Kenworth w900 with similar specs.

http://images.traderonline.com/img/4...01781067_1.jpg

2. Junior Member
      Vehicles
      05-25-2013 02:07 PM #2

Vehicles
      88 F150, 04 RX8
      05-25-2013 02:08 PM #3
      I thought small trucking companies were hurting bad due to fuel price fluctuations?
      |˙˙ʇǝuɹǝʇuı ǝɥʇ uo ʇxǝʇ uʍop ǝpısdn ɯopuɐɹ pɐǝɹ noʎ :ǝɯıʇ ǝǝɹɟ ɥɔnɯ ooʇ ʎɐʍ ǝʌɐɥ noʎ ןןǝʇ oʇ ʍoɥ˙˙˙|http://hotlinktest.com/

4. Junior Member
      Vehicles
      05-25-2013 02:10 PM #4
      Quote Originally Posted by BRealistic View Post
      I thought small trucking companies were hurting bad due to fuel price fluctuations?
      Nope, all they have done is raise prices of shipments, why do you think groceries and most products have gone up in price?

Vehicles
      05 STi, 91 Miata
      05-25-2013 02:12 PM #5