Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: tranny removal and clutch replacement for 1.8t

1. 01-24-2003 10:57 PM #1
      Ok this is my first time doing a write up so bear with me ill try my best.. this is a how to for a Mk4 fwd golf gti jetta for a 1.8t it should be the same for the most part.

Start by pulling the battery and the tray. If you have the stock airbox your gonna want to remove this as well. Next youll want to remove the shift bracket and linkage cables. Start by removing the cables from the bracket by sliding the little clips on the end of the posts that they are attatched to. **NOTE** earlier cars may have the pressed on ball style which is a pain in the ass. For those cars youll wanna grab a 13mm socket and jam the wrench between the cable end and the bracket and pry it off. This is not easy so dont give up!!! Now pull the silver weighted braket sitting on top of the transmission. there is a nut that holds it on located in the center of the bracket. Grab some WD40 and spray it on the splined shaft so its easier to pull of. After a few minutes pull up the braket by wiggling and pulling up.
      Now you need to pull the 3 bolts holding the bracket for the shift cable to the tranny and lift off the whole assembly up and tie it to something up high. Unbolt the slave cylider for the clutch out it held in by 2 bolts and has a wiggly looking brake line coming off of it pull this out of the way as well. There is a black metal arm going from the tranny to the tranmission mount under this, unbolt it and set it aside.