Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Speedo's Beginner Autocross Build

Vehicles
      99 Golf Wolfsburg Edition
      01-25-2016 07:30 PM #1
      Hi, I'm new to the Vortex but not new to VWs. I don't think that I have owned a VAG car for 10 years but I have had 5 VWs and an Audi in my lifetime. I was interested in starting out in autocross and wanted something that I can work on and enjoy driving so here I am!

I had a suspension setup for a Mk3 (Koni yellows and H&R Sport springs) from an older car still sitting in my garage so I set out to find a cheap Mk3 that wasn't too beat. I ended up picking up a 99 Wolfsburg Golf for a good price that had a recent clutch and other work done the last couple years so I grabbed it.

Here she is:

Took her for a drive, found out that the struts are definitely shot but brakes seem OK, power seems 2.0 typical but its leaking oil quite badly

I knew that it needed a thermostat, and due to that and the cold weather it was throwing a CEL so I replaced that first and cleared the CEL and it hasn't come back.

While I was under the car I cleaned up all the oil mess. It seemed to be coming from the little cover between the oil pan and transmission so I was dreading it being the rear main. Oil cooler seal and oil pan gasket replacements later and it seems to be done leaking.

[EDIT: Adding parts list here and will keep it up to date]

Installed:

Cheap eBay front and rear strut tower braces.
      Autotech 28mm Adjustable Rear Sway Bar - http://www.autotech.com/mm5/merchant...e=10-525-1129K
      Koni Yellow Struts - 8741-1258 Sport & 8041-1102 Sport
      H&R Sport Springs -
      Prosport EVO Series Digital Oil Pressure Gauge - https://www.ecstuning.com/ES3010017/
      Prothane Front Bump Stops - http://www.prothanesuspensionparts.com/221301
      195/50/15 BF Goodrich g-Force Sport Comp 2 tires - http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires....e+Sport+COMP-2