Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Speedo's Beginner Autocross Build

1. n00b
      Vehicles
      99 Golf Wolfsburg Edition
      01-25-2016 08:30 PM #1
      Hi, I'm new to the Vortex but not new to VWs. I don't think that I have owned a VAG car for 10 years but I have had 5 VWs and an Audi in my lifetime. I was interested in starting out in autocross and wanted something that I can work on and enjoy driving so here I am!

I had a suspension setup for a Mk3 (Koni yellows and H&R Sport springs) from an older car still sitting in my garage so I set out to find a cheap Mk3 that wasn't too beat. I ended up picking up a 99 Wolfsburg Golf for a good price that had a recent clutch and other work done the last couple years so I grabbed it.

Here she is:

Took her for a drive, found out that the struts are definitely shot but brakes seem OK, power seems 2.0 typical but its leaking oil quite badly

I knew that it needed a thermostat, and due to that and the cold weather it was throwing a CEL so I replaced that first and cleared the CEL and it hasn't come back.

While I was under the car I cleaned up all the oil mess. It seemed to be coming from the little cover between the oil pan and transmission so I was dreading it being the rear main. Oil cooler seal and oil pan gasket replacements later and it seems to be done leaking.
      Last edited by vw_speed; 01-26-2016 at 01:16 PM.

2. n00b
      Vehicles
      01-25-2016 08:35 PM #2
      The car cleaned up well, clay bar and a polish took most of the luggage scrapes off the back bumper. Interior is pretty decent but the drivers seat needs replacing since the bolster has a big chunk taken out of it.

Shiny!

(I know it looks pink in this pic, but its due to reflection of the red beam in the garage ceiling.)

3. n00b
      Vehicles
      01-25-2016 08:43 PM #3
      Had a cheap EBay JDM plate relocation bracket so I threw that on:

But it is really ugly pointed up that high.