Forgot your password?

VWVortex

The Car Lounge
    Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: After 18 years on the Vortex, I finally buy a 'darling.'

Vehicles
      '94 Miata - '05 4Runner - '10 Prius
      06-14-2017 06:40 PM #1
      After my winter of near-death and subsequent massive weight loss, we decided to do something a little crazy (for us) and splurge on a fun car. Life is short. Wife wanted a Mustang convertible but everything I found in our modest budget was either a V6/Auto or totally ragged out, or both.

Then I thought... $3500 is good Miata Money. I've loved Miatas since they came out, I remember ogling the first one I ever saw when they were released, parked outside the local grocery store the summer after I graduated HS (1989). But alas, I was poor, and fat and it wasn't something I could do back then. Then I "forgot" about them for a long time. I stuck with practical cars and then we had the boy, and dogs, and having a 3rd car was a luxury we didn't really need.

But life changes quickly, on you. You get older, you save a few bucks, you make space in your life for something fun and impractical, and voila! Miata.

So I went looking. Rural Vermont isn't exactly ripe with roadsters. Most of the ones I found were in Mass or NY and I was leery of driving hours each way just to look. There was 1 local one for sale and it turns out it's the cousin of friend selling it. I did a little research and ran it by the guys in the "You Need A Miata" thread and went to take a look.

It's a 1994 1.8 with 91k Miles... and it's awesome!

It was in even nicer condition then I expected. The interior is in GREAT shape aside from a few screw holes in the center stack. The rear window is trashed (cracked when he opened in in the cold) but the rest of the top is perfect inside and out. I love the color (red). AC, Heat, CD/Radio/Cassette, everything works as it should.