VWVortex.com - jumpers for fog light relay
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Results 1 to 25 of 117

    Thread: jumpers for fog light relay

    1. 08-03-2003 10:16 PM #1
      This weekend I checked in to jumpering out my fog light relay as Rodney had described to me. Having lost my sketch, I figured it out from the Bentley schematics. You can attain two gains: make your fog lights come on with either high or low beams, and make your low beams stay on when you turn on the high beams. Here's a pic of the spot where the fog light relay goes. It is in socket #10. You pull it out and toss it in that box of stuff you've removed but maybe should save.

      If you jumper the vertical slot on the left to the slot directly to the right of it, your fogs will stay on when you switch the lights to high beam. Like this.

      If you jumper the two small slots at the top and bottom right corners, your low beams will stay on when you switch to high for maximum light. [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] Like this.

      So if you want both it looks like this.

      This is an easy mod. You must realize, though, that all the current of the lights must pass thru the jumper. So you must use a decent size wire. I used a 12ga jumper for the fogs. But since I have my headlights relayed, I only needed a small wire for the lowbeam jumper. Without relays, I would have made that jumper larger also. The problem with that is those pins are small and it would be difficult to connect 12ga wire to them.




      Modified by A2B4guy at 7:26 PM 3-9-2007

    2. Member thecreeper's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 26th, 2001
      Posts
      1,240
      Vehicles
      2012 GTI | 1996 Passat wagon RIP
      08-03-2003 10:57 PM #2
      As always, excellent write-up and pics!
      When I got my Euro switch frpm parts 4vw.com, they supplied a jumper; it was a flat piece of metal that did exactly what you have shown (with both jumpers). Is this OK? Or should I use actual wire?

    3. 08-03-2003 11:07 PM #3
      Sure, that'll work great. I just didn't have any spare sheet copper.

    4. Awaiting Email Confirmation LC5P_GLX's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 4th, 2001
      Posts
      2,672
      08-04-2003 09:29 AM #4
      DUDE you ROCK with the write ups!! [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]
      "king of shrink tubing & wiring harnesses"

    5. 08-04-2003 02:15 PM #5
      The write up king strikes again

    6. 08-04-2003 02:48 PM #6
      Quote, originally posted by VR6mommie »
      The write up king strikes again

      What Mommie said. [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]
      This saves a lot of B3/B4'res a lot of time trying to find out how to have the high beams on with low when installing Hella De's like myself who haven't put the jumper in yet.
      Thanks for making such great use of you knowledge to bring us a better, easier and long lasting electrical products [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]
      Shelton


      Modified by dqwolf1 at 2:55 PM 8-4-2003

    7. 09-27-2003 06:14 PM #7
      way cool. am i wrong or don't the highs and lows also stay on at the midpoint before you let the high beam 'click'
      in other words if you hold the stick in place before it drops the lows, they are both on.
      /yosh

    8. 09-27-2003 07:04 PM #8
      I think this has been my fav. mod. [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

    9. 09-27-2003 07:27 PM #9
      Quote, originally posted by yoshboston »
      way cool. am i wrong or don't the highs and lows also stay on at the midpoint before you let the high beam 'click'
      in other words if you hold the stick in place before it drops the lows, they are both on.
      /yosh

      Yes. The dimmer switch has a contact that makes when you pull it fully forward, farther than you need to. If you notice, you can dim the lights without making that happen if you don't pull it real hard. But pull it all the way and you make that contact. Must be the autobahn "move over" feature. All VW's I've had back to 1977 had it. Oh, and it also works without the key in the ignition!


      Modified by A2B4guy at 7:28 PM 9-27-2003

    10. 09-27-2003 10:50 PM #10
      That's funny. I never noticed but I think my fogs are already jumpered. In a B3 the fog switch is separate from the light switch. So is this a mod for B4's only? Make it more fun, in Canadain models you never need to turnon the light switch as the DRL's keeps eveything one all the time.
      At lease, I've never noticed any difference turning on my lights with the switch vs leaving hte switch off.

    11. 09-28-2003 06:46 AM #11
      Quote, originally posted by Action Jackson »
      That's funny. I never noticed but I think my fogs are already jumpered. In a B3 the fog switch is separate from the light switch. So is this a mod for B4's only? Make it more fun, in Canadain models you never need to turnon the light switch as the DRL's keeps eveything one all the time.
      At lease, I've never noticed any difference turning on my lights with the switch vs leaving hte switch off.

      The lights run at 80% with the switch off. I've disconnected the DRL's for the main beams in my car so city lights run all the time. Now the light on the switch illuminates if I don't have my headlights turned on. Choice [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG][IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

    12. 09-28-2003 01:38 PM #12
      Quote, originally posted by BC Dub »
      The lights run at 80% with the switch off. I've disconnected the DRL's for the main beams in my car so city lights run all the time. Now the light on the switch illuminates if I don't have my headlights turned on. Choice [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG][IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]
      Interesting. I don't doubt your infinite wisdom, but where did you get the 80% number from? And if I am not willing to disconnect them, how can I override the DRL 80% to run at full 100% all the time?
      I've grown accustom to not needing to turn on my lights. It's a unique B3 feature I tell my self [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

    13. 09-30-2003 02:06 AM #13
      finally put in the low/hi jumper at H2o but still gonna get the relay kit with jumpers sometime soon [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

    14. 09-30-2003 04:24 AM #14
      Quote, originally posted by Action Jackson »
      Interesting. I don't doubt your infinite wisdom, but where did you get the 80% number from? And if I am not willing to disconnect them, how can I override the DRL 80% to run at full 100% all the time?
      I've grown accustom to not needing to turn on my lights. It's a unique B3 feature I tell my self [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

      Well, not sure where I came up with 80%, but I'm not necessarily wrong because I didn't find any figures as to the intensity of the DRL's. Here is the proof though
      From the owner's manual, Page 62, side note 1):
      "Canada models:
      Daytime running lights
      When the ignition is switched on, the headlights (low beam with reduced brightness) and tail lights will automatically come on."
      From the B3 Bentley manual, Ch.16 pg 94-50:
      "Circuit Description
      On Canada models only, the daytime running lights circuit illuminates the headlights whenever the ignition is swiched on. The low-beam headlights are designed to operate at less than their nighttime brightness due to additional resistance in the daytime driving lights circuit."
      So since I am not infinitely wise, would someone care to aid us in the search for just how much less bright the DRL's are?

    15. 09-30-2003 08:14 AM #15
      Quote, originally posted by BC Dub »
      So since I am not infinitely wise, would someone care to aid us in the search for just how much less bright the DRL's are?
      Ha ha ha, and a hardy har har too!
      OK, you're good, I'm lazy. I never looked in the two "bibles" I have. Thanx for the enlightenment.
      Jeez, no wonder I think my lights suck so much then eh! I'm not even giving the DOT's their full potential! Hahaha what a moron I am

    16. Member Tomandante's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 30th, 2004
      Location
      Watsonville
      Posts
      7,844
      Vehicles
      1992 E36 325is
      02-24-2004 05:28 PM #16
      [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG] [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

      Sofa King uro

      Quote Originally Posted by Fritz27 View Post
      C'mon man, you know that criticizing wheel size is the de facto way to show your mettle as an elitist car snob.

    17. Member KelOne333's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 15th, 2002
      Location
      NWCT
      Posts
      1,834
      Vehicles
      2011 Tiguan SEL 4-Motion
      02-24-2004 05:32 PM #17
      so how do you make just the fogs and parking lights come on? no headlights
      NOW: 2011 Tiguan SEL 4Motion
      THEN: B4 Passat / mkIII Jetta / mkII Jetta / 88 Fox / mkI Rabbit S / mkI Rabbit Cabriolet

    18. Member Armani's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 28th, 2004
      Posts
      1,375
      Vehicles
      1997 Jetta Trek, 1997 B4 Passat VR6, 2006 B6 Passat 2.0T,
      02-24-2004 05:59 PM #18
      Quote, originally posted by GLKelRR »
      so how do you make just the fogs and parking lights come on? no headlights

      If you have the same switch for the headlights as I do then you will not be able to. My switch only has these positions
      Rotation 0 (all the way left): Off
      Rotation 1: Headlights w/parking lights
      Pull 1: Front fogs
      You would probably need to get a euro switch. But some Canadian models I believe have a switch that has these functions:
      Rotation 0 (all the way left): Off
      Rotation 1: Parking lights
      Rotation 2: Headlights
      Pull 1: Front fogs
      Euro switch does the following:
      Rotation 0 (all the way left): Off
      Rotation 1: Parking lights
      Rotation 2: Headlights
      Pull 1: Front fogs
      Pull 2 Front and Rear Fog
      Plus, some euro switches have a control just to the right of the dimmer to raise and lower the headlight aim if you install all the other parts to add levelers to your headlights.
      Correct me if I am wrong guys.....


      Modified by Armani at 11:01 PM 2-24-2004

    19. 02-25-2004 01:54 AM #19
      Euro switch or '95 GLX headlight switch. (Disable to DRLs first.)

    20. Member Armani's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 28th, 2004
      Posts
      1,375
      Vehicles
      1997 Jetta Trek, 1997 B4 Passat VR6, 2006 B6 Passat 2.0T,
      02-25-2004 02:03 AM #20
      If you need to disable DRL's then go here..... DRL disable This is a thread for a Euro Switch and it contains some pics posted on disabling DRL's. I performed this it is really simple.

    21. 02-25-2004 09:25 AM #21
      This may be asking too much, but how do you make those cool looking jumpers? and where do you get the connectors at the end of the wires and such?

    22. 02-25-2004 11:26 AM #22
      I found mine at Pep Boys. It's a pack of yellow plugs (yellow handles 12 and 10 ga). There's three kinds, the loop, the jumper style (the connector is curled in), and the flat style (has a small hole in the middle, but visually not a loop connector). You'll need the flat style.
      I clipped and stripped some 12ga wire and crimped it to the connector. This doesn't provide a very secure connection and you'll lose the yellow insulator this way. Solder if you can. I'm going to go back and do that.
      For the vertical connection (for keeping the headlights on), the slot you plug into is smaller than the 12ga plug, like A2B4Guy said. I took a pair of diagonal snips and cut them to a little smaller than half the size. That fit well. I'm not sure if this affects current, though. I haven't run into any trouble with it.

    23. 02-25-2004 12:56 PM #23
      I'm going to jumper the fog lights and the lows to the highs, so all the lights are on, so if I use 12 guage wire, the wire will be good, but will my headlight switch or anything else unseen melt?

    24. Member Armani's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 28th, 2004
      Posts
      1,375
      Vehicles
      1997 Jetta Trek, 1997 B4 Passat VR6, 2006 B6 Passat 2.0T,
      02-25-2004 01:10 PM #24
      Just be sure to use a 12 gauge wire if you don't have the wiring relays.....

    25. Member f1forkvr6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 10th, 2002
      Location
      NH
      Posts
      8,134
      Vehicles
      2007 BMW E86 (z4 Coupe ... no, the top doesn't go down ... 0-60 5.1sec ... lat g 1+) , 2001 SAAB 95
      02-25-2004 08:24 PM #25
      If you go with a euro headlight switch, many vendors include jumpers:
      http://www.gti-vr6.net/library...ro_sw/
      No more VW
      ~later~

    For advertising information click HERE

    Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •