VWVortex.com - 42 draft design a-pillar pod boost gauge install
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: 42 draft design a-pillar pod boost gauge install

1. 07-27-2004 01:35 AM #1
      updates: i'll redo this one of these years. search on this page for "gray" and you'll find instructions on how to do the backlighting.
      ok, this is a work in progress, so please bear with me as i make modifications until i get it to the point where i like it. i actually have yet to finish the install; the backlight hasn't been wired yet. but i'll give it a shot for now, and i'll make it better as time permits. if you want to put this on another website, please let me know beforehand. i don't have any problems with it, i just want to know where this is going out to (cuz if there is some error, i want to be able to fix it and let people know).
      first and foremost, i am NOT a mechanic, so check your instructions before doing any work. these are a supplement to the instructions to help you figure out how to install it (i'm a visual learner, and pictures are always a good thing).
      i actually was not supposed to install this unit. my 2002.5 jetta has the front curtain airbags in the a-pillar. after searching on the vortex for a while, i found half the people said it should be fine, and half said 'no way, you're crazy'. well, i am crazy so i installed it.
      i won't be responsible for any damages done by using this set up. if you think it's not safe, then don't do this install. frankly, i have only seen pictures of the airbag safely deployed. i haven't seen any actual examples of problems (ie, someone that had an airbag deploy with the gauge pod and was injured by it).
      note: i may use the term tube and hose and line interchangeably for the vacuum tube routing from the fpr to the gauge. sorry bout that, i'll fix it later.
      ok. i'll start getting to the good stuff now.