VWVortex.com - The unofficial Cluster Swap thread
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 13 of 14 FirstFirst ... 391011121314 LastLast
    Results 301 to 325 of 331

    Thread: The unofficial Cluster Swap thread

    1. Member G60ING's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 27th, 2000
      Location
      Annapolis Area MD
      Posts
      15,879
      Vehicles
      2010 3.6 4-Motion CC, 1990 G60/TDI/R36 Corrado
      10-04-2017 11:46 AM #301
      Thanks,

    2. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements
       

    3. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 4th, 2008
      Location
      Bel Air MD
      Posts
      130
      Vehicles
      93 S4, 04 A4 1.8T quattro, 88 Gti VR Carrado swap, 89 Golf vr swapped ( current project)
      12-01-2017 06:49 PM #302
      I have a 94 vr6 vdo cluster swapped into a 89 golf. it has a 97 passat wiring harness, with everything not needed removed. emissions , alarm and so on. since the alarm was removed no jumper was needed. However The cluster gauges are dead and the lights will not come on. the only light that works is high beam and the right side turn signal indicator. which is on constantly. what could cause this? PLEASE PLEASE HELP.....

    4. Member G60ING's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 27th, 2000
      Location
      Annapolis Area MD
      Posts
      15,879
      Vehicles
      2010 3.6 4-Motion CC, 1990 G60/TDI/R36 Corrado
      12-01-2017 07:18 PM #303
      Quote Originally Posted by gearhead13 View Post
      I have a 94 vr6 vdo cluster swapped into a 89 golf. it has a 97 passat wiring harness, with everything not needed removed. emissions , alarm and so on. since the alarm was removed no jumper was needed. However The cluster gauges are dead and the lights will not come on. the only light that works is high beam and the right side turn signal indicator. which is on constantly. what could cause this? PLEASE PLEASE HELP.....
      Break out a schematic and multimeter and start check for 12VDC and ground at the proper places on the plug that goes into the cluster as shown in the schematic or chart above. Even Engine swaps with CE2 sometimes have unique wiring that require the trouble shooting steps.

    5. Member sdezego's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 23rd, 2004
      Location
      Hurricane Central FL
      Posts
      12,654
      Vehicles
      '90 Corrado | '62 Harley Panhead
      12-01-2017 11:13 PM #304
      I am not en expert on Passat Swaps, but it sounds like you may have the typical E2->D8 Jump needed.

      https://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?4159632

    6. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 4th, 2008
      Location
      Bel Air MD
      Posts
      130
      Vehicles
      93 S4, 04 A4 1.8T quattro, 88 Gti VR Carrado swap, 89 Golf vr swapped ( current project)
      12-02-2017 06:10 PM #305
      How can I determine if the wiring harness I have is a from a G60 or VR6? It came with a MK2 swapped project car.

    7. Member mateok's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 14th, 2001
      Location
      Atlanta, GA
      Posts
      3,326
      Vehicles
      90 G60 (since new) 93+VR 13 GTI
      12-02-2017 07:56 PM #306
      G60 has 21 wires and a VR6 has 25.

    8. 12-07-2017 09:42 AM #307
      I have a 89 G60. My tranny is 020. I would like to swap speedo cable to electrical sensor. Which way should I move? I want to mess around as little as possible.

    9. 12-11-2017 07:18 AM #308
      How about Passat clusters? It's difficult to find one from a Corrado in mym country.

      Currently I can get one from a Passat VR6 which is 94 and one from a Passat which is 91 unit. The 91 is a Motometer unit.

      So for now I have a lot of question:
      1) Is it okay to use red drive VSS in white drive gearbox? I have 020 gearbox. Am I right, that it will still work, but reads faster than it should?
      2) My current cluster have vacum. Only thing that would not work with a non vacum cluster is a gas milage? It is not important to me, but is there easy fix for it?
      3) Just to be clear, it is not possible to change Motometer clock faces? I would like to still use my current ones. So the non Motometer unit would be better choice?
      4) Are all the MFA's the same? For example, with a 94 Passat unit I could still see the oil temp?
      5) Another problem which I have is that I just swaped original ecu to a Megasquirt one. How to get a rpm signal?
      6) It is impossible just to swap speedo from the cluster?

      Sorry for being dumb and for asking lot of questions. I am more than a little bit confused on this

    10. 12-11-2017 04:12 PM #309
      Got solution to question number 5. As I have understood reading this topic, 6 cylinder engine cluster will read rpm signal wrongly on 4 cylinder engine. But is this still so when I take the signal from Megasquirt?

    11. Member sdezego's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 23rd, 2004
      Location
      Hurricane Central FL
      Posts
      12,654
      Vehicles
      '90 Corrado | '62 Harley Panhead
      12-12-2017 11:42 AM #310
      Quote Originally Posted by RUFG60 View Post
      Got solution to question number 5. As I have understood reading this topic, 6 cylinder engine cluster will read rpm signal wrongly on 4 cylinder engine. But is this still so when I take the signal from Megasquirt?
      Yes. You need a 4cyl cluster. You can output tacho signal from megasquirt and drive the Digital cluster tach just fine (I do this).

      Also, you have a 020 transmission and not a Cable shifter 02A like every other Corrado?

    12. 12-13-2017 06:52 AM #311
      So no option to adjust the signal from MS to show the 4cyl rpm right on a 6cyl tacho?

      And yes, 020 with white gear drive. Thats because I asked if the red gear drive would work as well. As I have heard there is no VSS with white gear.

    13. 04-03-2018 09:50 AM #312
      Quote Originally Posted by RUFG60 View Post
      So no option to adjust the signal from MS to show the 4cyl rpm right on a 6cyl tacho?

      And yes, 020 with white gear drive. Thats because I asked if the red gear drive would work as well. As I have heard there is no VSS with white gear.
      So the answer for my question for the other ones is that yes, you can swap the gear drives. It will read differently though.

      This thread looks like dead, but I still ask. We are talking about 92 VDO clocks. Is the speedo, rpm and gas/water clocks swapable on the boards? Example can I use a 220kmh speedo unit on my 260kmh cluster unit?

    14. Member theprf's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 21st, 2007
      Location
      Central MA
      Posts
      2,146
      Vehicles
      Down to 3x VR Corrado, '78 S30 280Z, '03 911 Turbo
      04-03-2018 11:04 AM #313
      Quote Originally Posted by RUFG60 View Post
      This thread looks like dead, but I still ask. We are talking about 92 VDO clocks. Is the speedo, rpm and gas/water clocks swapable on the boards? Example can I use a 220kmh speedo unit on my 260kmh cluster unit?
      I do not think that will work. The circuit on the board will drive the needle to the same place no matter what dial is installed. I have verified this for the tach & fuel gauges. I have not tried the speedometer.

    15. Member sdezego's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 23rd, 2004
      Location
      Hurricane Central FL
      Posts
      12,654
      Vehicles
      '90 Corrado | '62 Harley Panhead
      04-03-2018 11:34 AM #314
      Quote Originally Posted by theprf View Post
      I do not think that will work. The circuit on the board will drive the needle to the same place no matter what dial is installed. I have verified this for the tach & fuel gauges. I have not tried the speedometer.
      Right, same with speedo.

      To the OP: It has been stated in this thread that all gauges/clocks from Digital Clusters are "physically interchangeable" (meaning you can physically plug them in), however, the Tach and the Speedo reading will represent what is programmed on the PCB's EEPROM. ...and different Clusters (pre '93 and 93+) use different EEPROMs.

      Just taking a 260km/hr speedo module and putting it in a Cluster that was programmed for 220KM/hr will result in an incorrect reading. The Faces/Scale are the only thing different.

      Also, changing gears on your 020 drive in an attempt to override your Cluster programming is not the right way to go about this. While it "may" be possible to change drive gears to make the above speedo appear correct (if that is even possible), the Circuit board will be receiving a false speed signal (VSS are all the same) and the Digital speed will be incorrect causing false speed readings for (ABS, MFA, ODO, Spoiler Controller, etc). If none of that is a care for you, then I suppose it it possible to change Speedo Drive gearing. We used to use small gear boxes on american cars many years ago to adjust and correct speedo ratios for different tires sizes, etc

      I have never tried to change gearing on these drives for the above reason. I only recall having to replace drive gear on my 9a 020 (red gear) many many years ago and before digital clusters even existed. I thought that the Drive gear must match the specific Trans Ring and Pinion.

    16. Member dogger's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 29th, 2005
      Location
      Pasadena, CA
      Posts
      12,617
      Vehicles
      1990 Corrado 2L 16V, 2004 Audi TT 3.2 Quattro, 2014 Audi RS5
      11-21-2019 05:26 AM #315
      Finally getting around to swapping in my digital cluster.

      Might have to get some help Shawn since I am too lazy to read this whole thread haha

    17. Member sdezego's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 23rd, 2004
      Location
      Hurricane Central FL
      Posts
      12,654
      Vehicles
      '90 Corrado | '62 Harley Panhead
      11-21-2019 10:10 AM #316
      Quote Originally Posted by dogger View Post
      Finally getting around to swapping in my digital cluster.

      Might have to get some help Shawn since I am too lazy to read this whole thread haha
      Haha, no worries. I was going to do a cleaned up "Official Cluster Swap Thread", but...

    18. Member T~Roc's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 18th, 2015
      Location
      BRITISH COLUMBIA, CANADA
      Posts
      349
      Vehicles
      1991 G60 Corrado, 2006 5sp Golf, 1982 VW Rabbit GTI
      11-21-2019 10:15 AM #317
      Quote Originally Posted by dogger View Post
      Finally getting around to swapping in my digital cluster.

      Might have to get some help Shawn since I am too lazy to read this whole thread haha
      Yup, that sdezego has great knowledge, and based upon his own first-hand experience.
      Seems like he's done about everything to a G60 lol
      Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body.
      But rather to skid in broadside thoroughly used up, totally worn-out and loudly proclaiming: WOW! What a ride!!

    19. Member petethepug's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 25th, 2001
      Location
      So Cal
      Posts
      7,807
      Vehicles
      Orig Owner 90 G60 & 02 Allroad 6Sp Man w/ 3rd Row Seat 07 3x White NB & 08 Yukon Denali XL to tow em
      11-21-2019 12:36 PM #318
      James I expect that cluster will be sorted from all parts you’ve created and designed over the years. No skimping by adding a stock digital cluster I hope


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
      !! opɐɹɹoɔ ǝɥʇ!!ƃuıʇɔǝdsǝɹ !!!
      !! odarroɔ ǝht gnitɔepser !!

    20. Member dogger's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 29th, 2005
      Location
      Pasadena, CA
      Posts
      12,617
      Vehicles
      1990 Corrado 2L 16V, 2004 Audi TT 3.2 Quattro, 2014 Audi RS5
      11-22-2019 05:18 AM #319
      Quote Originally Posted by sdezego View Post
      Haha, no worries. I was going to do a cleaned up "Official Cluster Swap Thread", but...
      Slacker JK

      Skimming through here last night I was able to confirm that I have the right harness. Currently the dash, HVAC, steering column, and pedals are all removed so I have easy access to the rats nest of a fuse box. I'll IM you with a few questions.

    21. Member dogger's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 29th, 2005
      Location
      Pasadena, CA
      Posts
      12,617
      Vehicles
      1990 Corrado 2L 16V, 2004 Audi TT 3.2 Quattro, 2014 Audi RS5
      11-23-2019 02:55 AM #320
      Quote Originally Posted by petethepug View Post
      James I expect that cluster will be sorted from all parts you’ve created and designed over the years. No skimping by adding a stock digital cluster I hope


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
      So regret selling my analog cluster with Luis' needle kit He was supposed to make another but unfortunately he disappeared. Picked up the Audi needles but need to finish modifying them to work. I do have some of my gauge faces for it. Ray still jokes about buying my car

    22. Member R32dreamer17's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 11th, 2007
      Location
      HI
      Posts
      2,993
      Vehicles
      2004 4DR Golf TDI, 1991 Corrado
      03-01-2020 07:28 PM #321
      The VR came from a '97 GLX. I've read through the thread so I just wanna make sure that I understand what I am reading. It's my understanding that because it's a '91, the '93 cluster should plug up no problem and will fix my tach issue. I currently have the G60 cluster. Right now the tach readings are just too damn high, mph is spot on. Am I right or am I missing something? I'm also having some problems with my lights but I've yet to check the bulbs.

      The headlights off flick off when I try to use the high beams. I'm thinking/hoping I just need to put in new highbeam bulbs. The front right corner signal stays on while the headlight signal does as well and does not blink. Driver side corner is out altogether and the headlight signal blinks, and stays on when turn signal is not actuated. The taillights function 100%. Are the corner lights supposed to stay on, blink?

    23. Member sdezego's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 23rd, 2004
      Location
      Hurricane Central FL
      Posts
      12,654
      Vehicles
      '90 Corrado | '62 Harley Panhead
      03-01-2020 10:04 PM #322
      Correct. Put the Vr6 Cluster in and your tach will be correct. Direct Swap.

      Your other issues are unrelated to the cluster.

    24. Member R32dreamer17's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 11th, 2007
      Location
      HI
      Posts
      2,993
      Vehicles
      2004 4DR Golf TDI, 1991 Corrado
      03-01-2020 10:18 PM #323
      Quote Originally Posted by sdezego View Post
      Correct. Put the Vr6 Cluster in and your tach will be correct. Direct Swap.

      Your other issues are unrelated to the cluster.
      Great. That's what I thought. Thank you for such an informative thread and your response. Now I just need to track down a cluster...

    25. 06-30-2020 08:38 AM #324
      If this thread is still active can someone tell me where to find 'connection' T68/51? There is no T68 plug on the fuse box....

      any reply appreciated.

      Phil

    26. Member sdezego's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 23rd, 2004
      Location
      Hurricane Central FL
      Posts
      12,654
      Vehicles
      '90 Corrado | '62 Harley Panhead
      06-30-2020 01:16 PM #325
      Quote Originally Posted by phil027235 View Post
      If this thread is still active can someone tell me where to find 'connection' T68/51? There is no T68 plug on the fuse box....

      any reply appreciated.

      Phil
      T68 is Motronic ECu Harness. pin 51 is the Violet/white wire that goes to the Cluster 1x plug with same color for MFA signal from ECU

    Page 13 of 14 FirstFirst ... 391011121314 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    vwvortex.com is an independent Volkswagen enthusiast website owned and operated by VerticalScope Inc. Content on vwvortex.com is generated by its users. vwvortex.com is not in any way affiliated with Volkswagen AG.