VWVortex.com - Hello I'm a vortek newbie! read me please!
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Hello I'm a vortek newbie! read me please!

1. 05-26-2007 03:35 PM #1
      Hi fellow Vw dubbers! My name is Trip I want to thank all of you for your continous participation with the Cabby info!
      Here is my situation
      I went on the bub luv hunt for salvage head for '92 auto and tripped on an '88-COMPLETE! I couldn't see it get crushed so I bought it for an XXXXXtremely low price charged the battery and she started. Unfortunately the yard was raided by the catylitic converter bandits and now I have to buy a replacement Catylitic converter for it.
      I found a '90 jette head and have bolted and torqued that one on the '92 but I inadvertantly spun the crank with out the belts on and even tho I marked the belt it "dropped off the crank. Now I dont know how to get the 19mm crank bolt off! cannot tstop the crank from spinning! Any suggestions as you know i have to SEE the Crank timming marks! to set the timming.......Thanks
      Oh yeah whats up with the power steering pump adjuster nut being bent? What a pain! I got the bolt and nut off and now I realize that i have to remove the whole pump to get the belt back on!
      These cars make me feel like I am Bi-Polar! up down up down up down!

2. Remove Advertisements
      VWVortex.com
      Advertisements
    3. 05-26-2007 03:37 PM #2
      I meant DUB LUV not BUB luv!...

Vehicles
      '95 Ranger, '71 Mercier Fixie
      05-26-2007 06:41 PM #3
      If you'll use the crank timing marks in the bell housing, you won't need to remove the crank pulley.
      Ignore the intermediate shaft marks, just line up the center of the distributor rotor tip with the notch in the distributor body.
      Cam timing marks look like this.........

Quote Originally Posted by kamzcab86