VWVortex.com - Dead ABS Pump in '90 Corrado
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Dead ABS Pump in '90 Corrado

Vehicles
      '83 GTI, '90 Corrado, '95 Aurora, '96 Ranger; SOLD: '03 Eurovan, 2x '81 Jetta diesels, '00 GTI VR6
      09-24-2007 06:52 PM #1
      I just bought my first 'rado last weekend, a '90 G60. It's got a brake problem. Brake pedal is stiff as a rock and only the front brakes work.
      Before buying, the owner told me he'd had it diagnosed by VW years before [he gave me all receipts, and it's in there] and they determined that the hydraulic pump for the ABS system was bad. The car was 4 y/o at the time. He never had it replaced [dealer quoted $472 for a new pump then in '94; it's now about a thousand north of that price at the dealership for the part] and just lived with it until this time.
      I'm a Corrado newbie, and I'm not sure if this is a common problem on the car but I'm finding little about it anywhere online.
      What I'm wondering is...how difficult is it to uninstall the ABS system and revert the car to ordinary power brakes?
      OR
      Does anyone out there have the insight on repairing this system? eg: if the pump's been bad this long, will the ABS module under the brake booster also be bad?, that kind of stuff.
      I don't wanna drive my new toy with only front brakes to stop me, nor do I want my right leg to be the size of Arnold Schwarzenegger's back in the 80s just from trying to stop my car.
      Thanks

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

Vehicles
      '83 GTI, '90 Corrado, '95 Aurora, '96 Ranger; SOLD: '03 Eurovan, 2x '81 Jetta diesels, '00 GTI VR6
      09-25-2007 02:24 PM #2
      Bumpity

4. 11-18-2007 04:19 PM #3
      ever get this fixed?
      if the controller is under the pump, it has a newer style unit which usually doesnt have so many problems....

5. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

6. 11-19-2007 03:08 PM #4