VWVortex.com - RNS-510 Install: MkV R32
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 25 of 59

    Thread: RNS-510 Install: MkV R32

    1. Member kwintone's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 31st, 2006
      Location
      Nor|Cal
      Posts
      506
      Vehicles
      MkV .:R32
      12-18-2008 12:38 AM #1
      Installed a RNS-510 and I couldn’t be any happier. The swap in my “non-nav” R32 only took 30 minutes from start to finish and was entirely plug-and-play. OEM look and functionality with no modifications.
      Thanks to M3Tech & lamune and their write-ups:
      https://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=3647765
      https://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=4084743
      Thanks to Josh at OEMplus for the hook-up <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="https://www.vwvortex.com/zeroforum_graphics/biggrinsanta.gif" BORDER="0">
      After the holidays I am planning to add the FISCON VWPRO and MediaIn iPod adapter (thinking I will install an iPhone dock in the ashtray as I had done in my MkIV. Navigation is extremely intuitive and quick, most of the addresses I input come up correct before I finish typing in the information. I highly recommend upgrading to the RNS-510…if you’re on the fence, jump in…to OEM goodness, finally!
      I took a quick photo and video after installation (video is from a dslr to YouTube = not the greatest of quality):


      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DBW_5G3e38g
      -------------------------------
      RNS 510 VW R32 Install Nav Video


      Modified by kwintone at 5:05 AM 2-24-2009

    2. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements
       

    3. 12-18-2008 12:43 AM #2
      30 minutes installation, start to finish, including installing the GPS antenna under the dash? That's easier than I thought it'd be.
      Does the RNS come with a built in compass that displays directions in the MFD?
      sacto represent, you work at UC davis or something?



      Modified by justinperkins at 8:47 PM 12-17-2008

    4. Member kwintone's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 31st, 2006
      Location
      Nor|Cal
      Posts
      506
      Vehicles
      MkV .:R32
      12-18-2008 01:05 AM #3
      Quote, originally posted by justinperkins &raquo;
      30 minutes installation, start to finish, including installing the GPS antenna under the dash?

      Yes, it was much easier than I thought it would be...my wife couldn't believe it either. This was far easier than upgrading my MkIV, and before someone says, "but you don't have to take apart the dash," I have one word to say...monsoon.
      Simply remove a combined five trim/interior pieces and nine torx screws to uncover the OEM headunit. Slide out, unplug, plug-in RNS510, slide in and reverse the process. I placed the GPS antenna under the temp monitor on a piece of metal. I did not connect the SAT radio, as my listening habits don't support its use.




      Quote, originally posted by justinperkins &raquo;
      sacto represent, you work at UC davis or something?

      You are correct. Moved to Sac in July from AZ to work at UC Davis Medical Center.


      Modified by kwintone at 9:07 PM 12-17-2008

    5. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements
       

    6. Member _GoatPunishment_'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 28th, 2002
      Posts
      3,269
      Vehicles
      2011 Mustang GT
      12-18-2008 02:39 AM #4
      that headunit sure does clean up the interior and take it to another level... [IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthup.gif[/IMG]

    7. 12-18-2008 03:55 AM #5
      congrats. looks nice, I've already had one in my R since Feb.
      https://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=3645237
      now you have it you'll probably want the MDI.

    8. Member kwintone's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 31st, 2006
      Location
      Nor|Cal
      Posts
      506
      Vehicles
      MkV .:R32
      12-18-2008 09:15 AM #6
      Quote, originally posted by r32-1163 &raquo;
      now you have it you'll probably want the MDI.

      Yes, I wish I could have found one in time to install together, but I am going on a road trip this weekend and wanted the nav ASAP. I have looked at your thread on the MDI install and will be using that to help me along the way. As I mentioned earlier I am planning on placing an iPhone dock in the ashtray in an attempt to recreate my MkIV setup:

      On a side note, howzit? I grew up on Oahu, moving to the mainland when I started high school. I try to get back as much as possible, but that has been happening less and less as of late.

    9. Member DarkNeo's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 18th, 2004
      Location
      SoCal
      Posts
      8,575
      Vehicles
      Golf R32
      12-18-2008 03:17 PM #7
      Quote, originally posted by r32-1163 &raquo;
      congrats. looks nice, I've already had one in my R since Feb.
      https://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=3645237
      now you have it you'll probably want the MDI.

      we know...we know
      Official OG .:R32 Owners Club Member

    10. Senior Member abeR's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 13th, 2002
      Location
      Joe's Garage / Deals Gap
      Posts
      25,074
      Vehicles
      gorf
      12-18-2008 04:19 PM #8
      does anybody have a family member who needs a spleen at a fair price?

    11. Member trueunion's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 15th, 2008
      Posts
      1,070
      Vehicles
      2015 S3
      12-18-2008 05:12 PM #9
      very nice set up how much did it cost you for the unit nav.
      Just do it life is short.

    12. Member kwintone's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 31st, 2006
      Location
      Nor|Cal
      Posts
      506
      Vehicles
      MkV .:R32
      12-19-2008 12:05 AM #10
      Quote, originally posted by trueunion &raquo;
      very nice set up how much did it cost you for the unit nav.

      http://oempl.us/index.php?main...d=828

    13. Member xbr80bx's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 2nd, 2007
      Location
      Wiesbaden, Deutschland
      Posts
      1,343
      Vehicles
      Mk5 Golf R32 / Mk5 Jetta TDI (PD)
      12-19-2008 12:14 AM #11
      a word that's not really a word, but has more functions and is cheaper than a used MFD2 .
      CARPUTER
      insert cheap credibility statement here...

    14. 12-19-2008 12:19 AM #12
      Quote, originally posted by xbr80bx &raquo;
      a word that's not really a word, but has more functions and is cheaper than a used MFD2 .
      CARPUTER

      Another word that's not really a word: OEM

    15. Geriatric Member 16v's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 4th, 1999
      Location
      laying the smack down from MA for 20+ years
      Posts
      41,526
      Vehicles
      '19 Q5 Prem+, '14 Cdale Carbon Synapse, '12 Cdale Bad Boy, '06 3.2 Avant
      12-19-2008 01:14 AM #13
      Quote, originally posted by justinperkins &raquo;
      Another word that's not really a word: OEM

      9.11.01
      nunc est Bibendum
      10 cylinders, 10 doors, 8 rings
      "The average dog is a nicer person than the average person" - Andy Rooney

    16. Member Tr0p1c_6er's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 26th, 2004
      Location
      Eugene,OR
      Posts
      1,010
      Vehicles
      '09 MBO Triumph Street Triple R, '09 VW Routan SEL
      12-19-2008 05:02 AM #14
      You would still lose a lot of function with a Carputer over OEM wouldn't you? I want an RNS-510 soooo bad!

    17. Member xbr80bx's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 2nd, 2007
      Location
      Wiesbaden, Deutschland
      Posts
      1,343
      Vehicles
      Mk5 Golf R32 / Mk5 Jetta TDI (PD)
      12-19-2008 06:20 AM #15
      Quote, originally posted by justinperkins &raquo;
      Another word that's not really a word: OEM

      that was a good one. but really is it worth an extra $1800? you would lose the steering wheel controls and a few display options in your hud, but you would gain a lot MORE functions.


      Modified by xbr80bx at 9:59 AM 12-19-2008
      insert cheap credibility statement here...

    18. Member kwintone's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 31st, 2006
      Location
      Nor|Cal
      Posts
      506
      Vehicles
      MkV .:R32
      12-19-2008 09:03 AM #16
      Quote, originally posted by xbr80bx &raquo;
      but really is it worth an extra $1800? You would gain a lot MORE functions and versitility hands down.

      To me personally, it is not even a question. Oh and Windows is not allowed near my R32
      $2,300 + 30 min = (see above pictures)
      $1400 + days = https://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=4138340
      $1500 - $2000 + weeks = https://forums.vwvortex.com/zer...age=1
      I don't think so...[IMG]http://*****************.com/smile/emthdown.gif[/IMG]

    19. Member xbr80bx's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 2nd, 2007
      Location
      Wiesbaden, Deutschland
      Posts
      1,343
      Vehicles
      Mk5 Golf R32 / Mk5 Jetta TDI (PD)
      12-19-2008 11:09 AM #17
      I have my complete mini-itx dual-core system in its fab stage now. it cost a touch over $500. It is all going to fit into the double din slot behind the touchscreen. Clean and simple.
      The RNS-10 is a great oem system. i wanted something that did more with great expansion/upgrade options thats less expensive. Oh yeah, I'm a nerd, so I find it fun building and integrating some of my own work into my car.
      No offense to the builders who's projects you posted but...
      they took way too much time and spent way too much money. The TT's system looks awesome.


      Modified by xbr80bx at 4:19 PM 12-19-2008
      insert cheap credibility statement here...

    20. Geriatric Member 16v's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 4th, 1999
      Location
      laying the smack down from MA for 20+ years
      Posts
      41,526
      Vehicles
      '19 Q5 Prem+, '14 Cdale Carbon Synapse, '12 Cdale Bad Boy, '06 3.2 Avant
      12-19-2008 11:50 AM #18
      Question for RNS 510 owners with Sirius:
      do you experience the periods of lost service or "Linking" that seem to be common with owners using the stock setup?
      9.11.01
      nunc est Bibendum
      10 cylinders, 10 doors, 8 rings
      "The average dog is a nicer person than the average person" - Andy Rooney

    21. 12-19-2008 12:15 PM #19
      Quote, originally posted by kwintone &raquo;
      To me personally, it is not even a question. Oh and Windows is not allowed near my R32

      x∞, plus why on earth would you want to give up all your steering wheel controls and MFD integration?

    22. Member xbr80bx's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 2nd, 2007
      Location
      Wiesbaden, Deutschland
      Posts
      1,343
      Vehicles
      Mk5 Golf R32 / Mk5 Jetta TDI (PD)
      12-19-2008 12:56 PM #20
      There has actually been steering wheel control integrations, but not on the MK5. Almost anything is possible w/ a computer. and...
      I'm a PC
      insert cheap credibility statement here...

    23. Member M3Tech's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 26th, 2007
      Location
      Ft Lauderdale, FL
      Posts
      1,958
      Vehicles
      2012 M3/2010 CC
      12-19-2008 01:27 PM #21
      Quote, originally posted by 16v &raquo;
      Question for RNS 510 owners with Sirius:
      do you experience the periods of lost service or "Linking" that seem to be common with owners using the stock setup?

      No...

    24. 12-19-2008 02:56 PM #22
      Quote, originally posted by 16v &raquo;
      Question for RNS 510 owners with Sirius:
      do you experience the periods of lost service or "Linking" that seem to be common with owners using the stock setup?

      You may want to consider getting a firmware reload or update. I assume you're using 0210 firmware?

    25. Member trueunion's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 15th, 2008
      Posts
      1,070
      Vehicles
      2015 S3
      12-20-2008 02:21 PM #23
      very creative nice work. but for the regular guys i think we will go with the oem radio.
      Just do it life is short.

    26. 12-23-2008 01:52 PM #24
      Since I already have the stock nav system in the R32 (my only regret--I'm not a fan), do I still need to use the antenna that comes with the RNS-510 in the kit you referenced from OEMPL.US?
      Looks *fantastic*!
      Thanks!

    27. 12-23-2008 02:17 PM #25
      Quote, originally posted by tformanek &raquo;
      do I still need to use the antenna that comes with the RNS-510 in the kit you referenced from OEMPL.US?

      lol, no. your GPS antenna is in the sharkfin. no reason to use the "Horsepill" one included in the kit. That's for non Nav cars who don't have the GPS wire from the factory.
      you still need a sat radio extension to bypass your sirius tuner to the back of the rns and the twin antenna adapter for the AM/FM.

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •