VWVortex.com - Switching to Bike Carbs. Heres a write up!
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 83 of 83 FirstFirst ... 33737980818283
    Results 2,051 to 2,065 of 2065

    Thread: Switching to Bike Carbs. Heres a write up!

    1. Member vwaudipreferred's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 19th, 2005
      Location
      Central NH
      Posts
      1,595
      Vehicles
      92 RHD 16v Corrado, 13 Beetle 2.5, 15 GTI
      07-22-2019 01:18 AM #2051
      Question for you carbíed guys.
      I have a 1.8 16v corrado I recently converted to bike carbs.
      Fz1 carbs, 170 jets, bogg bros manifold, fz1 fuel pump and a 1-4 psi fpr.
      The car runs but idles at 2200rpm.
      I canít adjust the idle at all. Even by bringing the fuel pressure down to 1psi, nothing.
      Iím at the end of my rope trying to sort this thing out.
      Any ideas?



      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
      @theoldnh

    2. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements
       

    3. Member
      Join Date
      Jun 28th, 2006
      Location
      Elizabethtown, PA
      Posts
      5,466
      Vehicles
      '82 Rabbit 'vert, '03 BMW 325i Touring
      07-22-2019 07:12 AM #2052
      Vacuum leak?

      What's your AFR @ idle?

      Is your throttle cable allowing the carbs to close the whole way?

      Have you cleaned and baseline adjusted the carbs?

      Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

    4. Member vwaudipreferred's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 19th, 2005
      Location
      Central NH
      Posts
      1,595
      Vehicles
      92 RHD 16v Corrado, 13 Beetle 2.5, 15 GTI
      07-22-2019 07:41 AM #2053
      Quote Originally Posted by YJSAABMAN View Post
      Vacuum leak?

      What's your AFR @ idle?

      Is your throttle cable allowing the carbs to close the whole way?

      Have you cleaned and baseline adjusted the carbs?

      Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
      Not sure about vacuum leaks. The only vacuum line I know of is the one from the manifold to the brake booster. That one is fine.

      No idea of the AFRís

      Throttle cable isnít connected.

      Carbs have been cleaned and balanced.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
      @theoldnh

    5. Member vwaudipreferred's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 19th, 2005
      Location
      Central NH
      Posts
      1,595
      Vehicles
      92 RHD 16v Corrado, 13 Beetle 2.5, 15 GTI
      07-22-2019 05:56 PM #2054
      It was the float bowls. I adjusted the levels and all the issues remedied themselves.

      Thanks.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
      @theoldnh

    6. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 24th, 2007
      Location
      Kailua, HI
      Posts
      474
      Vehicles
      79 VW Rabbit/13 VW GTI/ 09 Daytona 675
      08-16-2019 01:36 PM #2055
      I know this is an old post and I think Iíve read most of it. So I bought a setup of carbs, fuel pump and msd from someone who had this on their mk2.

      Iím putting it in my mk1 16v swap but holy **** this radiator and coolant neck on the head is giving me so many issues. Initially I had a civic radiator cause I saw it mention quite a bit. I didnít like they way it looked or how we had to angle it so had got one from S&P automotive. It was a tucked radiator for carb swaps and I sent it back as I would have to run an in-line fill for it and the inlet/outlet where on the passenger side and there was no room at all.





      So I sent that one back and got their mini tucked version and again didnít like it. The inlet/outlet was on the drivers side and running coolant hoses was just ugly. Had to buy these metal flexible ones and there was literally no room from the bottom of the carb to the coolant neck on the head to get a hose clamp on. Plus running the lower hose down and u see the front engine mount just looked awful





      So now Iím on radiator 4, scirocco style with and end tank and inlet/outlet on passenger side. But again the issue Iím having is with the bottom of the bike carbs and coolant neck.

      Iím assuming at this point Iím gonna have to get a new intake manifold where the carbs are angled more up or do some serious fab work to the front core support.

      This is how the carbs sit now, would it be ok to angle them more






      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    7. Member vwaudipreferred's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 19th, 2005
      Location
      Central NH
      Posts
      1,595
      Vehicles
      92 RHD 16v Corrado, 13 Beetle 2.5, 15 GTI
      08-16-2019 02:48 PM #2056
      Quote Originally Posted by 69vdub View Post
      I know this is an old post and I think Iíve read most of it. So I bought a setup of carbs, fuel pump and msd from someone who had this on their mk2.

      Iím putting it in my mk1 16v swap but holy **** this radiator and coolant neck on the head is giving me so many issues. Initially I had a civic radiator cause I saw it mention quite a bit. I didnít like they way it looked or how we had to angle it so had got one from S&P automotive. It was a tucked radiator for carb swaps and I sent it back as I would have to run an in-line fill for it and the inlet/outlet where on the passenger side and there was no room at all.





      So I sent that one back and got their mini tucked version and again didnít like it. The inlet/outlet was on the drivers side and running coolant hoses was just ugly. Had to buy these metal flexible ones and there was literally no room from the bottom of the carb to the coolant neck on the head to get a hose clamp on. Plus running the lower hose down and u see the front engine mount just looked awful





      So now Iím on radiator 4, scirocco style with and end tank and inlet/outlet on passenger side. But again the issue Iím having is with the bottom of the bike carbs and coolant neck.

      Iím assuming at this point Iím gonna have to get a new intake manifold where the carbs are angled more up or do some serious fab work to the front core support.

      This is how the carbs sit now, would it be ok to angle them more






      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
      Are you using an aftermarket coolant neck for bike carbs?



      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
      @theoldnh

    8. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 24th, 2007
      Location
      Kailua, HI
      Posts
      474
      Vehicles
      79 VW Rabbit/13 VW GTI/ 09 Daytona 675
      09-21-2019 02:19 PM #2057
      Quote Originally Posted by vwaudipreferred View Post
      Are you using an aftermarket coolant neck for bike carbs?



      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
      I actually found that and ordered one, wasnít impressed with the build quality. Gonna have to take a dremel to mine and clean it up a lot .


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    9. Member yeayeayea's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 29th, 2005
      Location
      So MD
      Posts
      11,652
      Vehicles
      02 M5, 01 M3(x2), 00 528i, 92 Toyota 4WD Pickup, 88 4Runner ,02 Sequoia, 91 Jetta, 95 gsx600
      09-21-2019 04:53 PM #2058
      I used a stock radiator and radiator support and ABF waterneck but that was in a mk2. I too had the civic rad and wasn't a fan of the look. I didn't run filters though, so I had a bit more clearance. Could run the trumpet screens that some people have, they are mentioned in the thread.

    10. 11-16-2019 02:48 AM #2059
      Hi think this is the right place to ask this. So I've got a carbed Ce2 Jetta 1.8, and Ive put a crossflow head on it and I'm running r1 carbs. I'm using an intank pump to a surge tank under the car then to a r1 bike fuel pump, and have used a fuel pump wiring harness from the fuse box to the pumps from an digifant golf. I've tried to use the digifant fuel pump relay in the relay position 12, but it does not work. I've had the car running by just using a jumper lead in place of the relay. I've tried to search online for a solution and think i need to use a fuel pump relay from a early mk2 kjet or cis. So can anyone tell me before i buy a new relay that if i get a early mk2 fuel pump relay and plug it into slot 11 will this work or am i better of wiring a relay externaly???
      Last edited by allans; 11-16-2019 at 03:33 PM.

    11. Member
      Join Date
      Jun 28th, 2006
      Location
      Elizabethtown, PA
      Posts
      5,466
      Vehicles
      '82 Rabbit 'vert, '03 BMW 325i Touring
      11-16-2019 08:20 AM #2060
      From my research position 11 in a CE2 fuse box should be the horn relay. Position 12 should be the fuel pump relay. It sounds like you are using the stock in tank pump from the Digi, then the R1 pump in place of the Digi main pump, correct? If the R1 pump is in place of the main Digi pump and using the original wiring it should run off the original realy and fuses.


      Have you checked your ground and switched signals in the fuse box? Have you tested the relay to make sure it is working properly?

      Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
      Last edited by YJSAABMAN; 11-16-2019 at 08:24 AM.

    12. 11-16-2019 03:54 PM #2061
      yes your right it is in position 12 I've corrected my post. And yes thats how my fuel system is set up. only thing is since the car was originally carbed it had a relay for the intake heater in position12 which I've tried to put a fuel pump relay in but doesn't seem to work, but the fuel pumps do go with a jumper cable in place of the relay. I've tested my relay straight of the battery and can hear it clicking on and off.

    13. Member cabriosnap's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 24th, 2009
      Location
      Forks, Wa
      Posts
      1,514
      Vehicles
      A buncha broke ****
      12-27-2019 11:13 PM #2062
      I am hoping someone else running R1 carbs on their ABA can chime in with jet size suggestions...I have seen everything from 165-200mm suggested but all just info gathered from skimming threads.
      -VDUBN-
      Team Creampie
      My Car looks Dumped cuz theres Dead Hookers in the Trunk
      Quote Originally Posted by 942drvento
      Instead of the Beer Avatar they need a Blunt

    14. Member Jettaboy1884's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 20th, 2004
      Location
      North, NJ
      Posts
      7,192
      Vehicles
      '85 VW Golf & '17 Honda Fit Base - 6-speed
      01-10-2020 11:25 PM #2063
      Quote Originally Posted by cabriosnap View Post
      I am hoping someone else running R1 carbs on their ABA can chime in with jet size suggestions...I have seen everything from 165-200mm suggested but all just info gathered from skimming threads.
      I realize this isn't really helpful, but I've also skimmed threads and it seems that 160's are good for ~ stock 1.8L 8v. So, if your ABA is relatively stock, I'm inclined to think 170 or 175 is a good starting point. Jets are cheap enough to buy a couple sizes, though changing them can be a mess. Where are you planning to buy them?
      Last edited by Jettaboy1884; 01-10-2020 at 11:38 PM.

    15. Member vwaudipreferred's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 19th, 2005
      Location
      Central NH
      Posts
      1,595
      Vehicles
      92 RHD 16v Corrado, 13 Beetle 2.5, 15 GTI
      01-13-2020 09:24 PM #2064
      Quote Originally Posted by cabriosnap View Post
      I am hoping someone else running R1 carbs on their ABA can chime in with jet size suggestions...I have seen everything from 165-200mm suggested but all just info gathered from skimming threads.
      I run 175ís on my 16v.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
      @theoldnh

    16. n00b
      Join Date
      Mar 6th, 2017
      Location
      NORCAL
      Posts
      6
      Vehicles
      16v cis 83 gti, 1.8t 94 cabrio, 08 r32, 02 gti 1.8t
      02-14-2020 11:32 PM #2065
      Finally got my carbs on. I am currently running cbr900rr carbs. I put a 42 pilot jet in and a 190 main. The 190 is super rich on wot. But the stock 124 is too lean. I'll try my 180 but will probably end up with a 160 or 170.

      I have the tt 254 cams, headers, and 2 1/4 exhaust.

      The issue I'm having, is that when i let off the throttle it goes lean. Around 17 or 18:1 afr. If I let it sit and idle for a few minutes it eventually raises back to 14ish:1 afr. My mixture screws are set 5 turns out at this point.

      As soon as I give it any throttle itll richen up and be fine, but clutch in and off throttle drops again.

      Any ideas? I've also cleaned them already, and synced them.

      Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

    Page 83 of 83 FirstFirst ... 33737980818283

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •