25 Drivers Ready To Compete For The Series Championship Starting April 23, 2010
Volkswagen of America, Inc. is proud to announce the names of the 25 drivers who will compete in the 2010 Jetta TDI® Cup. The Volkswagen-operated spec racing series, now entering its third season, will take the green flag on its SCCA Pro Racing-sanctioned events beginning April 23 at Virginia International Raceway.
The drivers selected to compete in the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup include:
Rafael Navarro IV – Temecula, CA
Colin Thompson – Perkasie, PA
Arie Ouimet – Plymouth, MA
Michael Hogg – Vancouver, BC
Chris Wehrheim – Norcross, GA
Kevin Gleason – Johnstown, PA
JJ Tomlinson – Park City, UT
Taylor Tzouanakis – Wauconda, IL
Justine Jackson – Kingston, Jamaica
Wyatt Gooden – Gates Mills, OH
Jarvis Gennari – Boca Raton, FL
Brian Whitmire – Baton Rouge, LA
Mike Mineo-Nardacci – East Hills, NY
AJ Severino – Hamilton, NJ
Jenna Wagner – Bristol, VA
Andrew Novich – Novato, CA
Nate Norenberg – Plymouth, MN
Taylor Broekemeier - Fort Collins, CO
JD Mobley - Castle Rock, CO
AJ Nealey - Edgewater, MD
Andrew Cordeiro - Woodbridge, ON
Ryan Ellis - Ashburn, VA
Jake Thompson – Calgary, AB
Juan Pablo Delgado – Orizaba, Mexico
Juan Pablo Sierra Lendle - Puebla, Mexico
Earlier this week in Las Vegas, NV, Volkswagen welcomed driver candidates from throughout North America for three days of in-depth testing and analysis. All drivers were evaluated through a variety of on- and off-track scenarios to establish skill level, potential, and overall ability. Following a collection of driving activities, physical fitness tests, media training, and an in-depth sponsorship workshop from Townsend Bell, who finished 4th in the 2009 Indianapolis 500 (www.townsendbell.com), the final 25 drivers were chosen.
"Our third year for the Jetta TDI Cup is already shaping up to be the best one yet,” said Clark Campbell, Motorsport Manager, Volkswagen of America, Inc. "We were given the extremely difficult task of selecting only 25 drivers from a such diverse group of individuals who, honestly, all deserve the chance to compete. With 16 new drivers and 9 more returning from previous seasons, the field is undoubtedly set for top-notch competition and racing excitement.”
Drivers will race in ten Jetta TDI Cup events spanning seven road courses in the United States and Mexico in identical, factory-prepared and maintained Jetta TDIs running on clean diesel fuel. The series Champion will win $100,000 toward career development support from Volkswagen, while every driver who competes in the series will earn a Pro Racing license from SCCA at the finish of the season.
The Jetta TDI Cup racecar is powered by a 2.0-liter, four-cylinder TDI clean diesel engine mated to a six-speed, Direct Shift Gearbox® (DSG®) dual-clutch automatic transmission. The car is only slightly modified from stock through the addition of race tires, suspension, brakes, and safety equipment.
2010 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup Schedule
Round 1 & 2 April 23 – 25 Virginia International Raceway (Alton, VA)
Round 3 May 9 New Jersey Motorsports Park (Millville, NJ)
Round 4 June 5 – 6 Miller Motorsports Park (Tooele, UT)
Round 5 July 18 – 20 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course (Lexington, OH)
Round 6 July 30 – Aug. 1 Autobahn Country Club (Joliet, IL)
Round 7 & 8 Aug. 20 – 22 Road America (Elkhart Lake, WI)
Round 9 & 10 Sept. 24 – 26 Autodromo AMOZOC (Puebla, Mexico)