VWVortex.com - mk2 1.8t swap what harness for ce2
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 16 of 16

    Thread: mk2 1.8t swap what harness for ce2

    1. 12-17-2011 12:05 AM #1
      building another 1.8t but dont want to build a mk4 into the mk2 want to simplify this job
      what is the most simple harness to use other than spliceing into a ce2 harness and making one into two

    2. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements
       

    3. Member sloppychicken's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 28th, 2001
      Location
      Las Vegas
      Posts
      3,119
      12-17-2011 05:51 PM #2
      What do you mean what harness? it's one or the other, either you use the full MK4 harness or splice the harness into your CE2 harness.

    4. 12-18-2011 11:58 AM #3
      dont want to use the aeb harness nor do I want to deal with the full mk4 I want the use of the vvt dont really want to sit around for days spliceing both harnesses if thats the case ill remove the stand alone from my other project and run that instead

    5. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements
       

    6. Member Minty-MkII's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 10th, 2008
      Location
      Ontario
      Posts
      402
      12-19-2011 02:34 AM #4
      any mk4 harness can be spliced into CE2 thats one way. But an AEB splices in even easier! but even the mk4 1.8t harness is only a matter of splicing like 10ish wires depending on what accessories your running.
      Last edited by Minty-MkII; 12-19-2011 at 02:49 AM.
      "As men, we know NOTHING turns a girl on more then a well executed handbrake turn...Peacocks have their feathers, Men have the handbrake"

    7. 02-10-2012 09:17 PM #5
      what's the difference between the AEB and say AWP harness?

      can the AEB harness run a AWP motor?

    8. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 8th, 2004
      Location
      Rockaway,NJ
      Posts
      7,905
      Vehicles
      94 golf
      02-11-2012 11:21 AM #6
      AEB is drive by cable. Not drive by wire. No map sensor. No sai. No wideband. Same amount of splicing just don't need immo defeat and mount mk4 throttle pedal.

    9. Senior Member Vegeta Gti's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 12th, 2003
      Location
      konoha village, hawaii
      Posts
      21,556
      Vehicles
      1984 GLi 20v, '16 M3, '85 Golf, '17 R
      02-12-2012 03:34 AM #7
      wideband is superior. worth the drive by wire, the wideband,immobilizer defeat,etc.
      :HOMEGROWN MOTORSPORTS..SingerVehicleDesign...1:4.9 SuaSponte #13Dead Rabbits. Ungluck on IG. MKIforLife
      Quote Originally Posted by .Ant View Post
      What vegeta said.

    10. Banned dubinsincuwereindiapers's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 16th, 2008
      Location
      InYourMom
      Posts
      13,389
      Vehicles
      Bugatti Veyron
      02-13-2012 08:46 PM #8
      Quote Originally Posted by Vegeta Gti View Post
      wideband is superior. worth the drive by wire, the wideband,immobilizer defeat,etc.
      ^^^what he said..

      The available tunes are much better; whether you stay ko3s or go big Turbo. Wideband swap IS worth the minimal extra hassle. Not to mention resale will be a lot better as the aww/awp wideband swap is MUCH more desirable.

    11. 02-13-2012 10:39 PM #9
      i'm definetly looking for an AWP now

      so i've sold my digi 1 harness with my g60 motor so i need to find a new ce2 digi harness

      i need a harness that has VSS (g60, b3 passat 16v/vr6, or mk3) but i also want to retain MFA so what car's had MFA and VSS?

      b3 passat 16v? did they come with MFA?

      i know the b3 passat vr6 and mk3 vr6 do so i could always source an engine harness from one of those but it would cost more than a 16v harness

    12. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 8th, 2004
      Location
      Rockaway,NJ
      Posts
      7,905
      Vehicles
      94 golf
      02-14-2012 10:13 AM #10
      Mfa is part of ignition switch harness. You would need to run 3 wires for outside air temp and oil temp.

    13. 02-14-2012 12:24 PM #11
      ignition switch harness?

      i finally looked at my car last night and the outside air temp is definetly in the engine harness...it's the only harness i've removed and it's no longer there so...

      as for the oil temp, that's definetly in the engine harness too


      what else might you be refering to?

    14. 11-25-2019 02:38 PM #12
      so 8 years later and I'm finally doing the swap

      one question i may have....if i got the motor from an auto car, will i have any additional issues i need to over come for my swap

      will the ECU be ok? is there any difference with the harness?

      how can i check my ECU/motor to see if it was an auto or 5spd car?

      also are the auto and manual DBW gas pedals different?

      thanks

    15. Member westbeach4's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 19th, 2006
      Location
      Puyallup
      Posts
      269
      Vehicles
      Built mkv gti, mk2 8v, Foha mk2 24v, Project mk2 1.8t, Built Xj, MK4 Tdi Wagon
      12-01-2019 09:28 PM #13
      congratulation on starting the swap. I'll be starting my mk2 1.8t swap video series in about a month. I didn't want to worry about the auto ecu so I found a ecu with immobilizer delete and apr stage 2 for $200.
      On the engine there will be a couple additional hoses I need to delete vs a manual set up.
      either gas pedal will work. The manuals come straight down while the autos have a bend to them but come down in the same location.

      hope this helps

    16. 12-02-2019 08:12 PM #14
      hey i've been watching your videos

      get your buddy with the corrado moving again lol

      i was offered another pedal and was told it was from a manual car but it's got the same bolt pattern as the one i have...so i'm confused which cars got what as far as the bottom hole orientation goes

    17. Member westbeach4's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 19th, 2006
      Location
      Puyallup
      Posts
      269
      Vehicles
      Built mkv gti, mk2 8v, Foha mk2 24v, Project mk2 1.8t, Built Xj, MK4 Tdi Wagon
      12-02-2019 11:48 PM #15
      Just talked to chayo the other day. He really wants to get it done. The problem is the body guy that was supposed to put on the bodykit pretty much quite last year on us. That's why it's just been sitting there. Really sucks

      I'm pretty sure they both have the same holes. When I did mine everyone used the manual pedal. I couldn't find one and just got a auto one. Works perfect

    18. 12-03-2019 04:20 PM #16
      Theres definitely two different mounting locations for the bottom hole. Just need to source the right one.

      Sucks about the body guy. What kit is he putting on?

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •