Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DIY-Speaker Replacement, and Dynamat Install

Vehicles
      2016 PASSAT
      02-27-2012 05:39 AM #1
      Well I this weekend I finally had some time to replace my factory front door speakers with a set of Focal Access component speakers that I've wanted for a while. During the process I went ahead and added some Dynamat. During the process I snapped a few pics to show a little DIY. I'm not saying this is the perfect way to do the process, or I'm a pro, this is just the way I did it. Hope this is a good contribution.

Supplies-
      Speakers of your choice
      At least one 18x32" Sheet of Dynamat(One per door)
      Dynamat Roller(Comes in handy when applying the Dynamat)
      T20 and 25 Torx
      Scissors and or knife
      Wire stripping and splicing tools, plus a few butt connectors and speaker wire
      Drill with semi large drill bit
      Small flat head screw driver for prying, or interior tool kit

Skill Level-Id say if you can turn a screw driver/drill, have a little patience you can do it.

Step 1- Pop up the window switch panel, it seems to pop up easier from the left side like so.

Step 2- You'll need to un-clip these connectors

Step 3- Next, there are three T25 screws that need to come out of the door handle.

Then there are two screws on the bottom of the door.

Once this is done you can begin to pry from around the edges of the door, there are several little "christmas tree" type doo hickies that need to be pulled out.

Step 4-Once you get the door panel off you'll need to un-hook the door pull cable from the door card. Its pretty straight forward, hope the arrows help.

Then there are two more plugs to undo on the inner door harness.