VWVortex.com - MK7 Climatronic (with auto recirc) in US Golf R
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 51 to 69 of 69

    Thread: MK7 Climatronic (with auto recirc) in US Golf R

    1. Member Dantescrub's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 20th, 2012
      Location
      Edmonton, Alberta Canada
      Posts
      505
      Vehicles
      Current: MK6 Golf R, Tiguan R-Line Past: MK5 GTI, Tiguan Highline
      05-23-2015 03:26 PM #51
      Quote Originally Posted by audiohs View Post
      Do you need a new fascia plate or can you reuse the existing one in the MK6?
      It comes with everything you need including a fascia plate.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    2. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements
       

    3. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 25th, 2008
      Location
      Aurora, ON
      Posts
      311
      Vehicles
      2008 R32 -> 2012 Golf R -> 2016 Golf R
      05-23-2015 10:49 PM #52
      Ordered, I miss the digital readout from my R32. Having auto-recirc already is a plus!

    4. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 25th, 2008
      Location
      Aurora, ON
      Posts
      311
      Vehicles
      2008 R32 -> 2012 Golf R -> 2016 Golf R
      06-01-2015 05:47 PM #53
      Installed today. Everything worked, but threw a bunch of codes. Had to recode it from all zeros to 00001002. Basic settings for flapper worked, but my compressor run in was set at 60 seconds. That basic setting test failed, so I changed it to 120 sec and tried again, but it failed. I am getting cold air, so I think it's fine, no codes in VCDS.

    5. Former Advertiser
      Join Date
      Sep 4th, 2013
      Location
      Auburn, AL
      Posts
      464
      Vehicles
      2013 Golf R
      06-02-2015 04:48 PM #54
      Quote Originally Posted by MitchPope View Post
      Installed today. Everything worked, but threw a bunch of codes. Had to recode it from all zeros to 00001002. Basic settings for flapper worked, but my compressor run in was set at 60 seconds. That basic setting test failed, so I changed it to 120 sec and tried again, but it failed. I am getting cold air, so I think it's fine, no codes in VCDS.
      Auto recirc or not?


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    6. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 25th, 2008
      Location
      Aurora, ON
      Posts
      311
      Vehicles
      2008 R32 -> 2012 Golf R -> 2016 Golf R
      06-02-2015 05:45 PM #55
      Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
      Auto recirc or not?
      Yes, with auto recirc.

    7. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Mar 27th, 2012
      Location
      OntaRio
      Posts
      99
      Vehicles
      '12 RB R
      06-03-2015 01:05 PM #56
      I've seen a version of the climatronic that has a 'Rear' button. Anyone know what that button is for? Is it meant for the Golf?

      edit: probably for the Passat which probably has some kind of rear seat controls
      Last edited by audiohs; 06-03-2015 at 02:42 PM.
      ~~Chronology of Mods~~
      OEM LED tails | Diesel Geek SS | Emblem RVC (aftermarket) | MkVII Climatronic | 4" Exhaust Tips | Gloss Black Emblems | NSP boost gauge | Unitronic Intake | HPA Haldex Comp Controller | 034 Dogbone Insert | 19" Pretoria wheels | Crystal Clear Sidemarkers | Unitronic Stage 1+ tune | Stoptech slotted rotors | EBC Red Stuff | Bully Stage 3 Clutch

    8. Member
      Join Date
      Dec 27th, 2009
      Location
      Bahrain
      Posts
      734
      Vehicles
      04 M3 cs, 12 Golf R
      06-03-2015 03:26 PM #57
      looks like a nice upgrade.
      2004 BMW E46 M3cs.
      2012 VW GOLF R, 5 Door, DSG, Euro Spec.
      IG: 060Motorsports

    9. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Mar 27th, 2012
      Location
      OntaRio
      Posts
      99
      Vehicles
      '12 RB R
      07-01-2015 10:10 AM #58
      Finally got the part. Install is super easy. No problems with resetting the A/C by holding the A/C and rear defrost buttons together for 5 seconds. I still used VAG-com to do the adapt flap end stops and AC compressor first run-in per the Ross Tech site but probably wasn't needed. I love the look of it. Much cleaner and elegant. Plus I like the layout much better and having a dial for the fan speed.
      Last edited by audiohs; 07-01-2015 at 10:34 AM.
      ~~Chronology of Mods~~
      OEM LED tails | Diesel Geek SS | Emblem RVC (aftermarket) | MkVII Climatronic | 4" Exhaust Tips | Gloss Black Emblems | NSP boost gauge | Unitronic Intake | HPA Haldex Comp Controller | 034 Dogbone Insert | 19" Pretoria wheels | Crystal Clear Sidemarkers | Unitronic Stage 1+ tune | Stoptech slotted rotors | EBC Red Stuff | Bully Stage 3 Clutch

    10. 07-01-2015 10:45 AM #59
      Did you install the air quality sensor?

    11. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Mar 27th, 2012
      Location
      OntaRio
      Posts
      99
      Vehicles
      '12 RB R
      07-01-2015 11:30 AM #60
      Quote Originally Posted by thegave View Post
      Did you install the air quality sensor?
      My car already had the sensor. It appears that the Canadian model got them but not the US.
      ~~Chronology of Mods~~
      OEM LED tails | Diesel Geek SS | Emblem RVC (aftermarket) | MkVII Climatronic | 4" Exhaust Tips | Gloss Black Emblems | NSP boost gauge | Unitronic Intake | HPA Haldex Comp Controller | 034 Dogbone Insert | 19" Pretoria wheels | Crystal Clear Sidemarkers | Unitronic Stage 1+ tune | Stoptech slotted rotors | EBC Red Stuff | Bully Stage 3 Clutch

    12. Member Spyharpy's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 10th, 2012
      Location
      Bay Area, CA
      Posts
      102
      Vehicles
      2013 Rising Blue 4-Door Sunroof/Navi
      10-14-2015 09:08 PM #61
      If anyone is looking for the sensor and wiring loom, I have one available as I decided not to go through with the install. Posted in the Classifieds section.

    13. Member agarc's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 19th, 2001
      Posts
      2,436
      Vehicles
      2018 Audi Q5
      02-12-2016 01:43 PM #62
      Does anyone (esp. [email protected]) have the part number for the version w/out auto-recirc but with larger metallic ring trim on the dial controls?

    14. Member
      Join Date
      May 2nd, 2001
      Location
      CNY
      Posts
      1,985
      Vehicles
      2012 CW Golf R 4dr, 2017 SB GSW 4MO
      03-04-2020 04:44 PM #63
      Quote Originally Posted by nordique14 View Post
      I installed the MK7 climatonic unit by following the steps in the vwgolf.net.au forum thread. Link found in post #10 above.

      However, I had some issues. Removing the trim and the original unit was easy. Hooking up the new unit also very easy. The problem was that the AC compressor would not initialize as stated in the post. Apparently if you hold down the rear defroster button and AC button for 5s then it will start the AC compressor first run-in sequence. If you do not then the AC button will not light and the AC will not work. I could not get it to go.

      Since pressing the buttons did not work, I pulled out Vagcom. Note that you will need the latest version of the VCDS software (I used 12.12.0). V11 versions apparently do not recognize the MK7 units. The first thing I noticed was that for the code for Auto HVAC was 0000000000. That did not look right so I set it back to the original code of 0000001002. Then I followed the steps found here:

      http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index...5K%29_Climatic

      I did the 'Adapt Flap and Stops' and that completed successfully. I then tried to do the "Compressor Run In; Automatic Start". It would still not initialize. So I put back in the original unit. Everything worked fine. I put back in the Mk7 unit and tried again. VCDS would still not let me do the compressor run-in. Then I noticed at the very bottom of the web page where it says:
      "Note: If Basic Settings reports Error the module may need to see an Adaptation change before this can be completed. Go to Adaptation and change "Driving time for compressor run in" from 120 -to- 120 and save it followed by repeating the procedure."

      I looked and the "Driving time for compressor run in" was set to 120. I typed in 120 and hit save. It asked me if I wanted to change it from 120s to 120s. I said OK and then went back and tried the Compressor Run In. It let me do it. 2 minutes later I had cold AC and fully functioning Mk7 unit...with the exception of the air quality sensor (which I did not install).

      I am waiting to see how the air quality sensor is set up. The only thing I know is where the sensor attaches in the front of the car. It has 3 wires running from it. One routes to one of the wiring harnesses in the back of the climatronic unit. One routes to the fuse box and one goes to the ground. I need to see how they get routed to where they are supposed to go before I tackle this part. I will report back if I become brave enough to give this a try.
      Thanks for the helpful information above. It took awhile for me to get it all to work and following your instructions made the difference.

    15. Member
      Join Date
      May 2nd, 2001
      Location
      CNY
      Posts
      1,985
      Vehicles
      2012 CW Golf R 4dr, 2017 SB GSW 4MO
      03-17-2020 08:10 PM #64
      While the MK7 climatronic is working as it should I did find a fault code in VCDS. See below:

      Address 08: Auto HVAC (J255) Labels:| 5K0-907-044.clb
      Part No SW: 35D 907 044 B HW: 35D 907 044 B
      Component: Climatronic H03 0303
      Revision: 00001K02
      Coding: 0000001002
      Shop #: WSC 54321 321 54321
      ASAM Dataset: EV_ACClimaBHBVW411 A01001
      ROD: EV_ACClimaBHBVW411_VW36.rod
      VCID: 2649B408594D997FFF-8072

      1 Fault Found:
      9479189 - Signal Line for Air Quality Sensor
      B10A4 15 [009] - Open or Short to Plus
      Confirmed - Tested Since Memory Clear
      Freeze Frame:
      Fault Status: 00000001
      Fault Priority: 3
      Fault Frequency: 8
      Reset counter: 108
      Mileage: 222923 km
      Date: 2020.03.14
      Time: 19:05:29

      Is there anyway to tell the ECU not to look for an air quality sensor?

      TIA,

      Tom
      Last edited by B5Speedo; 03-17-2020 at 09:02 PM.

    16. 03-18-2020 12:05 PM #65
      No, but it's a soft code so who cares. If you really want to get rid of it, get the AQ sensor and hook it up.

    17. Member
      Join Date
      May 2nd, 2001
      Location
      CNY
      Posts
      1,985
      Vehicles
      2012 CW Golf R 4dr, 2017 SB GSW 4MO
      03-18-2020 12:46 PM #66
      Quote Originally Posted by thegave View Post
      No, but it's a soft code so who cares. If you really want to get rid of it, get the AQ sensor and hook it up.
      LOL. I actually have the sensor but too lazy to install it.

    18. Member
      Join Date
      May 2nd, 2001
      Location
      CNY
      Posts
      1,985
      Vehicles
      2012 CW Golf R 4dr, 2017 SB GSW 4MO
      03-20-2020 05:36 PM #67
      Does anyone have a picture of the auto recirc sensor installed? The cartoon on the Bold-Sport web page is horrible.

    19. Member flieger's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 28th, 2000
      Location
      Colorado Springs, CO
      Posts
      6,128
      Vehicles
      2015 Q5 3.0T Stg 2+, 2012 CW Golf R OEM+, 1983 Rabbit GTI Sport, 1969 Transporter
      03-26-2020 05:30 PM #68
      Quote Originally Posted by B5Speedo View Post
      Does anyone have a picture of the auto recirc sensor installed? The cartoon on the Bold-Sport web page is horrible.
      If I remember correctly it literally sits on the edge of the cabin intake under the plastic rain tray. I will try to get you a photo tonight or tomorrow.

    20. Member
      Join Date
      May 2nd, 2001
      Location
      CNY
      Posts
      1,985
      Vehicles
      2012 CW Golf R 4dr, 2017 SB GSW 4MO
      03-26-2020 06:25 PM #69
      Quote Originally Posted by flieger View Post
      If I remember correctly it literally sits on the edge of the cabin intake under the plastic rain tray. I will try to get you a photo tonight or tomorrow.
      A picture would be great!!!

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    vwvortex.com is an independent Volkswagen enthusiast website owned and operated by VerticalScope Inc. Content on vwvortex.com is generated by its users. vwvortex.com is not in any way affiliated with Volkswagen AG.