VWVortex.com - A clear and straightforward engine wiring diagram? (8v digifant I)
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: A clear and straightforward engine wiring diagram? (8v digifant I)

1. Member inlovewithavdubengine's Avatar
      Vehicles
      '91 Cabriolet (5-spd Cali Digi-I 2L/8v) + '03 Jetta MkIV
      08-01-2015 11:43 PM #1
      Going through some of them VW electrical troubles right now; I've searched the forums and Google and cabby-info without much luck so I'm crowd-sourcing this one.

I'm basically looking for a "map" of all of the wires, grounds, sensors, and major electric components in the engine bay. I am by no means an electrician or an electrical engineer, so the less complex the diagram the better. I've been studying the Bentley diagram but it's a little too arcane for my skill level and isn't must help answering what I'm trying to figure out anyway.
      It needs to be relatively easy for a layman to decipher and specifically focused on the engine wiring harness: battery, grounds, fuse box, ignition switch, coil; along with every engine componet that is attached to a wire; alternator, radiator fan, mass airflow sensor, etc. I'm not concerned about the voltage of the tail-light relays or the stereo or anything like that.

Ideally I'd like an image or images with a top-down or isometric/exploded schematic. I've found a million diagrams of the vacuum system...

What I need is something exactly like that one, but for the wiring harness. Does it exist? Perhaps someone could make one if it doesn't?

This one here is close I guess, but it's still a little vague/incomplete for my taste, not quite helpful for what I'm trying to figure out:

This one is pretty close too; I like that it's straightforward and color-coded and shows most of the major components, but I'm pretty sure it's not my system.