VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

My 24V Turbo

6K views 21 replies 12 participants last post by  poli12 
#1 ·
Hello!

Thought I would throw some pics of my latest project up. I haven't been on this site much in the last 10 years due to life and travel. I used to race a Scirocco a while back and decided it was time to build another VW now that I was back in the lower 48. The goal is to go fast for cheap. The car is a beater, many parts are used or cobbled together in my garage. I'm not a professional welder by any stretch but it all works.

Here's my old all motor 8v scirocco that ran 12.1@109mph

I found a really beat down 03 VR6 GTI for sale. Shifter bushing were bad, 2 broken axles, spewing oil from an over tightened oil pressure switch (cracked aluminum housing), 3 codes for missfire and lean, etc. Towed it home and got to work. After getting it running, axles replaced, and fixing all the stripped captive nuts in the frame/missing subframe bolts etc I received a new surprise. The previous owner stripped the three bolt holes that mount the transmission to the mount. I hit a small bump and the threads pulled, dropping the transaxle at 45 mph. (Also breaking one of my new axles!)

That was the last straw. I pulled it in the garage, ripped everything out, and started building.

I never put a turbo car together so I did some reading and some ebay/amazon shopping. I used:

Precision 6266 Turbo, .81 AR
Amazon mandrel 304 SS exhaust bends
Precision 46mm wastegate
Deatsch fuel pump
630cc Siemens Injectors
UM Tune by AP Tuning
turboparts.de intake manifold (looks like HPA clone? not a high quality part for the $)
9:1 headspacer
ARP head studs

I was also fortunate enough to find someone parting out a car with an old C2 kit on it. I bought:
02M with Peloquin
FMIC
charge tubes

Finally, Techtonics put together a longer length 3" exhaust so I could use a muffler I already had and that would fit up to my downpipe/midpipe.