VWVortex

The Car Lounge
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1979 IH Scout - vehicle #22

1. Member
      Vehicles
      14 Toyota 4Runner, 05 Lexus GX470
      06-28-2019 11:11 AM #1
      Whelp, I was looking for a project but I didn't think I'd end up with one like this. Considered another C5 Corvette, SW20 MR2 project with a 2gr swap, bunch of other random sport cars . . . but reality always took over and reminded me I live on a small barrier island outside a major city with nowhere fun to drive. This brought me back to old trucks and while I really like my GX470 as a daily driver, I desperately missed the character of my LX450. Looked at FJ40, Bronco and Blazer for a while but they are all either crazy expensive or one rain drop away from disintegrating.

This brought me to the IH Scout, the original but forgotten SUV. After a few months of half assed looking, this popped up and my wife bought it for my bday:

It has been partially rebuilt with the frame being repainted, new brake lines, new bushings, new shocks, replaced tub and panels, rebuilt V8 and some other smaller things. It's wired to run and drive offroad, but the major hurdle for me will be completing the wiring for the rest of the truck so I can get it registered for street driving.

It's being transported to me this weekend, excited to get dirty.

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

3. Member
      Vehicles
      06-28-2019 11:16 AM #2
      Paint and interior wise I can't make a decision. I really want a seafoam/surf green exterior with a tan interior, but that's going to require a professional body shop. With all the other things I have to consider in my life, a $15k body shop job for this truck just isn't in the cards. I've had some great success with Monstaliner in the past, so since this won't be a show truck, I'm strongly considering white Monstaliner with a black rallye stripe and red synthetic seats.

Vehicles
      '04 Honda Recon 250ES
      06-28-2019 11:26 AM #3