VWVortex.com - Adjusting clock?
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 12 of 12

    Thread: Adjusting clock?

    1. 12-10-2019 07:47 PM #1
      How to adjust this analog clock then?

    2. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements
       

    3. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 10th, 2015
      Location
      Utah, USA
      Posts
      5,478
      Vehicles
      4 VWs, 1 Buick, 1 Ford & 1 Jag
      12-11-2019 01:40 AM #2
      It's in the Settings Menu / other settings.

      Daylight savings time doesn't seem to work. I have to change it every time change. So does everybody else.

      There was a thread about this when we all changed to Fall.

    4. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 27th, 2005
      Location
      Pittsburgh & Boston
      Posts
      884
      Vehicles
      2005 Phaeton V8, 2014 CC 3.6 Executive, 2017 Jetta SE manual (among others)
      12-11-2019 03:04 PM #3
      I agree with the other posters: it has to be done twice a year because of DST, but it's really easy: once in settings - time, the easiest is to choose the "use satellite time" (or something similar, i don't recall he exact wording) option: you'll see the clock's hands adjust automatically one hour forward or back as required.
      Stefano

    5. Remove Advertisements

      Advertisements
       

    6. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 23rd, 2015
      Location
      UK North East
      Posts
      282
      Vehicles
      2007 Phaeton LWB V8; 2003 Phaeton SWB W12 Top Gear Studio car https://vimeo.com/166475531
      12-11-2019 07:26 PM #4
      On both of my P's if you select "Use GPS Time" it reverts back to 1st Jan 2000. No idea why.

      Also the clock in my W12 (2003 car) has always run slow whereas the one in my 2007 V8 is always spot on accurate.

    7. 12-11-2019 07:56 PM #5
      you mean analog clock is controlled digitally by ecu?

    8. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 10th, 2015
      Location
      Utah, USA
      Posts
      5,478
      Vehicles
      4 VWs, 1 Buick, 1 Ford & 1 Jag
      12-11-2019 11:59 PM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by vwfetus View Post
      you mean analog clock is controlled digitally by ecu?
      It's not really a "clock" but a display that shows the time as reported by the NAV via GPS.

      I don't know if it uses IRIG or another signal but it's just a display.

      I think you can adjust it manually but I never have. I don't know if it's regulated. I think it's just a stepper motor.

      That's all in the FAQ somewhere.

    9. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 10th, 2015
      Location
      Utah, USA
      Posts
      5,478
      Vehicles
      4 VWs, 1 Buick, 1 Ford & 1 Jag
      12-12-2019 12:03 AM #7
      You have to change the time zone for the time change.

      For half of the year I am on Central Standard Time and the other half I am on Mountain Standard Time.

    10. Senior Member PowerDubs's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 22nd, 2001
      Location
      NWNJ
      Posts
      25,091
      12-12-2019 12:41 PM #8
      Would be cool if somebody could figure out how to wire up the clock inputs so we could use one as a desk clock. if I remember, it has 4 or 5 wires.
      -Josh

      1-12-5-8-3-10-6-7-2-11-4-9

    11. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 10th, 2015
      Location
      Utah, USA
      Posts
      5,478
      Vehicles
      4 VWs, 1 Buick, 1 Ford & 1 Jag
      12-12-2019 06:35 PM #9
      Quote Originally Posted by PowerDubs View Post
      Would be cool if somebody could figure out how to wire up the clock inputs so we could use one as a desk clock. if I remember, it has 4 or 5 wires.
      It probably wouldn't be hard to supply the voltage. You would need to know the input voltage which is probably 12V or less.

      The other inputs are probably signal wires from the NAV. The Bentley wiring diagrams would probably show where the wires connect but not what the signals are. They may be time code signals or may be some special car clock or even Phaeton and Bentley only car clock signals.

      I don't know if it depends on the signals or if it will "keep" time with just voltage. If it did move the hands at a predetermined rate, how would you set it?

      When my first "Atomic" clock couldn't find a signal, the hands just spun around at high speed. I was trying it overseas and it was looking for the radio signal from Colorado. It had no way to set the hands manually.

      You could buy an "Atomic" radio controlled clock (with hands, AKA "analog") and try using its signal wires on a Phaeton "clock". They are pretty cheap now.

      GPS satellites send time information but I don't know if radio controlled clocks use the same signals. (I don't know if the Colorado transmitter or other transmitters send out IRIG signals.)

      There was a Phaeton "clock" on eBay with the cover included but it probably sold by now. I think it was Burr Walnut.

    12. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 23rd, 2015
      Location
      UK North East
      Posts
      282
      Vehicles
      2007 Phaeton LWB V8; 2003 Phaeton SWB W12 Top Gear Studio car https://vimeo.com/166475531
      12-15-2019 10:17 AM #10
      Quote Originally Posted by 53PL-50AAA-VW611BAN View Post
      You have to change the time zone for the time change.

      For half of the year I am on Central Standard Time and the other half I am on Mountain Standard Time.
      You can definitely set it manually to whatever time and date you choose. I had to do that with the time and date on both of mine.

      Sent from my BBB100-2 using Tapatalk

    13. 12-22-2019 02:05 PM #11
      managed to set to Finland time zone
      analog clock moves itself... neat
      only western europe there is to select from :/
      Lithuania is not europe =)

    14. Member n968412L's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 23rd, 2009
      Location
      Holcombe Brook, UK
      Posts
      2,718
      Vehicles
      2014 3.0TDI Phaeton; 2009 1.4 Tiguan;2013 Take Up! 2014 Take Up!
      12-23-2019 07:39 AM #12
      Quote Originally Posted by AJL44 View Post
      On both of my P's if you select "Use GPS Time" it reverts back to 1st Jan 2000. No idea why.

      Also the clock in my W12 (2003 car) has always run slow whereas the one in my 2007 V8 is always spot on accurate.
      In my GP0 and GP1 the clock changed itself for daylight saving. In my GP3 I have to change it manually. The GP3 electronics are so much less well thought out than on the GP0 and GP1. I don't think that the GP3 clock is linked to GPS time....
      Ex member of Le Club 2P

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •