Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 81 Rabbit 1.6D Restomod Daily Driver

1. Junior Member
      Vehicles
      81 Rabbit Diesel, 15 Tiguan, 05 Golf tdi, 89 cabriolet,81 caddy, 68 Bug, 01 GTI, 99 jetta (mk3)
      03-10-2020 02:02 PM #1
      Well, here we go again.

I haven’t had a Volkswagen in my life for nearly one and a half years. As the withdrawals got worse, I would lay awake at night browsing market place and Craigslist looking to feed my addiction. I have been doing this since November 2019.

For the last few years I have been daily driving my 2002 dodge 2500 Cummins during the winter months. As the weather gets nicer I tend to hop on one of my two wheeled toys. In November I decided it’s time to look for a small daily to keep the miles off the dodge during the winter months. My reason for this, I only drive about 4 miles to work. The dodge doest even finish getting up to temp before I shut the vehicle off. I know this is extremely hard on big diesels so again I thought it was time to find something I didn’t mind racking up the miles with.

I told myself I would settle for a 1.6 diesel rabbit or caddy. I didn’t mind paying for something that needed a little work. Well one thing led to the next and in the middle of February I purchased my 81 Volkswagen Rabbit 4 door. I dragged the old girl about 4 hours south to her new home.

A week later my buyer eyes finally wore off and I realized how much work this thing actually needs. With the DMV process complete (can’t wait for my custom plate) I’m ready to start tearing into it.

My plan is to make a reliable, stylish, economical daily that I can drive to work on the rainy days. This is by no means a show car build. I plan on doing a lot but am still new to working on cars.

Interior plans: